We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great again, thank you”
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont House
Ranked #24 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great again, thank you”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just enjoyed another long weekend with Phil and Joy in comfortable and refurnbished accomodation. The breakfast was fantastic and set us up for the day and we took advantage of a lovely packed lunch to take walking with us. Always a friendly chat and a cup of tea waitng after good days walking. Suggestions of where to eat and walk have always been top notch. We also take in a play of two at the Theatre by the Lake, Off the road private car parking was a must for us and we made use of the free wifi. Lovely views of the surrouding hills and lakes make sitting in the garden with the birds and squirrels a splendid way to spend a little time after a days walking if the weather does smile on you. We look forward to our next visit which will not be too far in the future.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Skiddaw and Catbells and both are great with King sized beds and new ensuites.Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerA371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
So lovely to see you both again, and thank you very much for the wonderful review. Take care, kind regards. Phil and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
212
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent a wonderful week in Claremont House, we were welcomed by Phil who helped us with our cases and made us a welcoming cup of coffee which we enjoyed in the garden overlooking Keswick. Claremont House is in a very good location on the edge of the town. The house is lovely, we had the pleasure of sleeping in Catbells room which was decorated to a very high standard and had a very comfortable King sized bed and a modern ensuite. The house was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent as we were able to choose what we wanted and we were offered a wonderful selection of freshly cooked food.

Joy and Phil were so friendly and helpful with telling us where we could eat in Keswick and helping with routes to tour and places to visit. All in all a wonderful experience. Thank you both very much. We hope to revisit them in the future. By the way they keep red squirrels in the garden! George and Elsie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your 7 night stay at Claremont House. The Catbells room that you stayed in and liked so much has just been completely refurbished. We pride ourselves on our extensive breakfast menu, and can suit all tastes and dietary needs.. The red squirrels are a very welcome extra they live in our garden and make appearances throughout the day. Thank you for this lovely review. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I would like to thank Phil and Joy for a fabulous few days, we had a good time catching up on what has been happening since our last visit
We had the pleasure of using the recently re-furbished Catbell's room, they have done this room to a very high standard. The en suite is modern and very tastefully decorated, the room itself has beautiful views which can be enjoyed from the seating area by the window. After a few hours hill walking there is nothing better than coming back to a nice comfortable room, and Catbell certainly ticks all the boxes. My wife and I will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
What can we say, you arrived as guests ,and are now our good friends. This is your 6th time of staying with us in the last 2 years. Thank you so much for your lovely comments on our refurbished Catbells room knew you would like it. Be seeing you both again sometime. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My Family and I stayed at Claremont House for one night. It was great. The owners are very helpful and excellent hosts. Gave us good recommendations of where to go for a walk and to eat. The bedrooms were nicely furnished and very clean. The breakfast was fantastic. You can choose what you like on your plate and there are toasters on each table, which I think is a great idea. The location of the B+B is good. About 15 min walk downhill to the centre and the taxi is only £2.90 back up. Bargain:)
I would definitely stay here again and would recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReetsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review, so pleased both you and your Mum and Dad enjoyed staying at Claremont House. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my long suffering girlfriend recently spent an all too brief nights stay here, and we were both highly impressed.

We were looking for an establishment for a one nights stay before moving onto a cottage we had booked for the week in nearby Braithwaite, and after research and reading a plethora of positive reviews about Claremont house, we chose here as our destination and it proved to be a most wise decision.

We had arrived early so we parked our car in the guests car parking area, inroduced ourselves to the hostess Joy, and made our way into Keswick for some shopping and tea and cake. The town is around a 15 minute walk, which is a highly agreeable stroll through pleasant residential areas.

We came back later on that afternoon to check in, and we were treated to a warm greeting and were made to feel very welcome. The host Phil offered us some excellent local information and made us both tea and cake, which was a lovely touch.

We stayed in the Fairfield room, which was a delight. It had a charming four poster bed, was tastefully decorated and had a wonderful cosy feel to it.

We both slept exceedingly well that evening.

We arose the next morning and were treated to a superb breakfast. The fayre on offer was hearty, well cooked and plentiful.

Me and my girlfriend both really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were brilliant, the room superb and the breakfast first rate.

It set us up perfectly for a weeks assualt on the fells, which included a particulary thrilling, if somewhat tempestuous ascent of Blencathra, but that tale is for another time....

Will definately return in the future

Highly recommended

Room Tip: The Fairfield was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed the lovely Fairfield four poster room. Thank you for your kind comments.
We appreciate the time people take to give positive feedback. Kind regards Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We liked our first overnight stay so much that we returned a few days later for another two nights. Phil and Joy were excellent hosts, friendly and helpful and Claremont House was like a haven for us. The room(s) were spacious, lov ely and clean and bright with good hot showers and some extra chocolate goodies in with the tea/coffee and biscuits supplied. Claremont overlooks the town of Keswick, about a five minute drive away, and the views from the top rooms are just lovely. You can see across the town and beyond and also to the surrounding hills. A small farm close by provided relaxing entertainment as we watched geese, ducks and chickens going about their daily business of food foraging and getting the hierarchy just right! They were taken into safe areas at night, free from harm.
Breakfast was great, all you could want and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The breakfast room overlooks a very pretty garden area which also has plenty of parking space, a big ,big plus as it is very limited in most of the town centre accommodation. The town itself had all the facilities we needed; banks, good general shopping,eating places and a very clean self-service laundry with on- site staff. I think they do washing and ironing if you require it.
Do take the drive that Phil kindly suggests: he will show you the route and it's just glorious. We'd love to go back to Claremont House next time we are in the UK and highly recommend it to others for a most comfortable and happy stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyH335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Not only once but you returned again during your holiday for another stay with us. Thank you so much, very pleased you enjoyed Claremont House you came back for second helpings. Kind regards Phil and Joy.....hope you safely back home in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came to stay on the 5th April 2013 and what can we say?? Absolutely Fantastic!!!
We were made to feel very welcome by Joy & Phil from the outset, which has always been important to us. The room we stayed in, Blencathra, featured an amazingly comfortable super king sized bed and great facilities. And, of course, the breakfast was to die for!! I would recommend Claremont House to anyone, satisfaction guaranteed!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corndoggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much...it is reviews like this that make all our hard work so worth while. We really
appreciate you going on- line and taking time to give us such brilliant feed back. Kind regards Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 173 in Keswick
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#9 of 173 in Keswick
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 173 in Keswick
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 173 in Keswick
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Property: Claremont House
Address: Claremont House Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing