We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont House
Ranked #36 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We liked our first overnight stay so much that we returned a few days later for another two nights. Phil and Joy were excellent hosts, friendly and helpful and Claremont House was like a haven for us. The room(s) were spacious, lov ely and clean and bright with good hot showers and some extra chocolate goodies in with the tea/coffee and biscuits supplied. Claremont overlooks the town of Keswick, about a five minute drive away, and the views from the top rooms are just lovely. You can see across the town and beyond and also to the surrounding hills. A small farm close by provided relaxing entertainment as we watched geese, ducks and chickens going about their daily business of food foraging and getting the hierarchy just right! They were taken into safe areas at night, free from harm.
Breakfast was great, all you could want and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The breakfast room overlooks a very pretty garden area which also has plenty of parking space, a big ,big plus as it is very limited in most of the town centre accommodation. The town itself had all the facilities we needed; banks, good general shopping,eating places and a very clean self-service laundry with on- site staff. I think they do washing and ironing if you require it.
Do take the drive that Phil kindly suggests: he will show you the route and it's just glorious. We'd love to go back to Claremont House next time we are in the UK and highly recommend it to others for a most comfortable and happy stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyH335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Not only once but you returned again during your holiday for another stay with us. Thank you so much, very pleased you enjoyed Claremont House you came back for second helpings. Kind regards Phil and Joy.....hope you safely back home in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 300 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came to stay on the 5th April 2013 and what can we say?? Absolutely Fantastic!!!
We were made to feel very welcome by Joy & Phil from the outset, which has always been important to us. The room we stayed in, Blencathra, featured an amazingly comfortable super king sized bed and great facilities. And, of course, the breakfast was to die for!! I would recommend Claremont House to anyone, satisfaction guaranteed!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corndoggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you very much...it is reviews like this that make all our hard work so worth while. We really
appreciate you going on- line and taking time to give us such brilliant feed back. Kind regards Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked to stay for three nights and arrived a bit early but our really comfortable room was ready. Joy welcomed us in and straight away brought us Tea and cake while we unpacked. The weather was bright but there was a cold wind blowing. Our room "Catbells" however, was toasty warm and the shower always had plenty of hot water for when we returned from our days out. We also had a wonderful view of latrigg across the valley. The whole place is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are fit for a King! It's more than a meal, it's part of the Claremont House experience - I have never seen so much choice outside of a large Hotel.
There are plenty of published walks to do in the area but Phil has gone one step further and can provide excellent detailed walks that you can do from the doorstep of the guest house.
Phil and Joy are so in tune with all their guests it seemed as though our every need was anticipated. Your whole day can be planned or fine tuned as you are being served breakfast. There is no doubt that this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in and we would have no hesitation in recommending Claremont House to anyone wishing to visit the Keswick area of the Lake District. Would we go back? Yes. Without a shadow of doubt. Looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you both so very much for such a wonderful review...we are over the moon...it is so good to hear that we are achieving such high standards in looking after our guests. It makes all our hard work so worth while, this is a marvellous accolade..Thank you..Kind regards Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were after a quiet little bolt hole for a night away from wedding planning and this b+b on the outskirts of Keswick didn't disappoint. We recevied a friendly welcome from the owners and when shown to our rooms it was bright, clean and luxurious with great views. We were there on the snowiest weekend of the year...even in March and the thick duvet and complementary kitkat to go with our coffee was much appreciated. Come tea time, it was only a 5 minute drive down the hill in to town, and had it not been ankle deep with snow and blowing a gale we could have happily walked it. The following morning breakfast was hot, fresh and made to order. There was also a wide variety of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and juices for anyone who couldn't tackle the full english on offer. Post breakfast we were given a few pointers on walks around the area - although our stroll up the hill to the nearby Castlerigg Stone Circle was slightly hampered again by the arctic conditions. All in all we would definitely go back if we were in thee area again. ps. keep an eye out for the little red squirrells in the garden.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Lovely review thankyou,... Even with the deep snow you still enjoyed your mini break with us. So pleased you had a great time.. All the best to you both on your forthcoming wedding. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for four nights in the Skiddaw room at the beginning of March. The room was comfortable, clean and the location was fantastic (just a 10 min walk to Keswick) The breakfast was of a very high quality served by Phil who was extremely helpful in providing advice on places to visit. The hosts Phil and Joy were very accommodating and friendly, which made us feel relaxed and at ease. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to stay in the Keswick area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thankyou very much for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your mini break at Claremont House. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was our first visit to the Lake District for an overnight stay on route back from Scotland. We had a lovely warm welcome on our arrival at Claremont House. The Blencathra room which we had booked did not disappoint. It was beautifully decorated, very spacious, exceptionally clean and warm with a large comfortable bed, The view from the room was lovely too. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners Joy and Phillip. They recommended a lovely Italian restaurant for our evening meal. They made the booking for us and also booked our Taxi. Our breakfast was excellent! plenty of choice of both hot and cold food. Before we left they told us of places of interest to visit. We would certainly recommend Claremont House and hope to revisit in the Summer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thankyou for your lovely review. So very pleased you loved your room , its views and the breakfasts, such positivity makes us so happy. Kind regards. Phil and Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our first stay at Claremont House on the recommendation of our closest friends, so we knew before we got there that we would have a great stay, and we were not disappointed. Lovely looking house with ample parking, we were warmly welcomed by an extremely friendly and organised Joy and was swiftly shown to our room 'Skiddaw'. An immaculate, bright and spacious double aspect room with a lovely large en-suite shower. The kind of room thats looks like your the first to ever use it. The seating area within this room was a bonus and a nice place to enjoy the tea/coffee making facilities. Within 10 minutes of arriving Joy was serving us tea and cakes, making us feel extremely welcomed, comfortable and relaxed indeed. From its elevated position with great views, it's only a ten minute stroll into Keswick. After a lovely nights sleep a very attentive Phil was on hand to serve your wonderful breakfast of which you pre-order the night before stating what you wanted and at what time you wanted it. The lovely bright breakfast room welcomes you with an array of cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurts and breads all of which you can enjoy whilst waiting (not for long at all) for your expertly cooked breakfast. I am a cooked breakfast fanatic and was mega impressed as the 'hot' food was served on 'hot' plates and the produce was QUALITY (and quantity). Toasters on the tables is a great idea. No cold dry toast being brought out from the kitchen here (take note other B&B's). Phil is a lovely bloke and on hand to offer advice on where to go and what to see, should you need it. Overall, a fantastic B&B and would certainly advise other travellers to not think twice before booking.......... Warm home, Warm Hosts !!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IFSwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It was so lovely to get a wonderful review from you. Your friends had already stayed with us, and there word of mouth is the best marketing tool around, so thankyou very much for that.
Hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards. Phil and Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
795 reviews
4.6 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Address: Claremont House Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing