We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont House
Ranked #22 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a wonderful B&B, with fantastic hosts and a fabulous bedroom. I was blown away by the hospitality I was shown and the care, attention and desire that the owners showed to make my stay as pleasurable as possible. I highly recommend this as a place to stay if only for the magnificent cooked breakfast I had each morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thankyou very much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for us to see that we were able to make the time you spent with us a very enjoyable experience for you. Kind regards. Phil and Joy Hirst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
211
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We Stayed at Claremont House just before Christmas, we travelled as a couple and we couldn't of asked for a better break away!! The stay was so relaxed and Phil & Joy made us feel at home right away. We were given coffee and cake on arrival which was a lovely touch. I had an omelette on the second morning and would really recommend the mushroom one. My husband had the full English breakfast and he wasn't dis-appointed! All in all a lovely stay and we will be back next year. Thank you both and all the best for 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so pleased you felt so at home the minute you got here. We feel after a long journey a good cup of tea or coffee and piece of cake helps you relax . Also pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts. Thankyou. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the Claremont with some friends during a trip to the Lake District and I was satisfied with my stay. The hosts were wonderful, very friendly and made us feel at home offering us tea and cake when we arrived. The room was nice and cosy. I would like to say it was spotlessly clean but I moved the bed and found some used paper tissues on the floor behind it. Also, the washbasin was in the room as the bathroom was too small, and it wasn't exactly a comfortable solution.
The breakfast was OK, plenty of choice of cooked food, not so much if you prefer a continental breakfast like myself. There was plenty of bread and crumpets, but not enough jam on the table (none on the buffet table). I saw a good selection of cereal, and some fruit. I appreciated that each table had its own toaster.
Overall, good value for money. The guest house is not in the town centre, but it's just a five minute ride if you have a car, and there's plenty of space to park. Would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiatrice82Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thankyou for your review, pleased to see you would like to come back to Claremont House.
We pride ourselves on our breakfast menu, it is extensive and we ask in advance if anyone has any special dietry needs or requirements. We gladly try and cater for all. Extra marmalade and jams are only an ask away. Cleanliness is paramount to us (note all our other reviews) but it appears on this occasion a tissue was left behind the bed ? and our attention to detail fell short . Merry Christmas and a Happy New year. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Claremont House for the second time over for the weekend. Superb again, lovely hosts where nothing is too much trouble, rooms spotless and beautifully appointed.

Breakfast all you could ask for and local knowledge of walks greatly appreciated.

Can't wait to get back - if you are looking for a B&B in Keswick Claremont House will take some beating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Wow what can we say, fantastic review and your return visit is the icing on the cake, says it all really. Thankyou. See you again. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have just returned from a fabulous weekend in Keswick staying at Claremont Hose and would recommend this B&B to anyone. We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and Joy brought a cup of tea and cake up to our room which was a lovely touch. We stayed in the Blencathra Room which was a lovely room, decorated to a high standard, very spacious and spotlessly clean. We had not visited Keswick before and were not sure of the area but Joy recommended some restaurants in the area and even rang and made a dinner reservation for us. Breakfast was excellent..with a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, toast and of course a full english breakfast, which was very well cooked. Phil has a good knowledge of the surrounding area and was more than happy to are his knowledge of walks and places to visit. We will definately be returning in the future. Thank you Phil and Joy for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_Beanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Such a pleasure to recieve a lovely review from you. Makes all the refurbishments that we have done so worth while. Looking forward to seeing you both again sometime. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

When we came to Claremont House again this year we were warmly welcomed by Phil and Joy with a cup of coffee and piece of cake :-) Joy's georgous breakfast prepared us well for our walks. Phil happily shared his experience and knowledge of local walks and by our returns we had a little cake waiting for us in our room which just added the little extra of making us feeling very welcome and looked after. We had a lovely time and definitely will be back again next year. Thank you very much Phil and Joy for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micmuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossendale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We received a very warm welcome, Phil and Joy are a lovely couple, really friendly. It was our first time in Keswick and they were very helpful in recommending things to do. Phil has a great knowledge of the surrounding area. Breakfast made to order, good choice of food and a toaster on each table, great idea. We stayed in the Garden room which was lovely,nicely decorated. Just a 10min walk into Keswick. Thankyou Phil and Joy, we will definately be coming again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSSY-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.2 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
0.2 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 175 in Keswick
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Property: Claremont House
Address: Claremont House Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing