We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent b&b”
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont House
Ranked #28 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a fantastic place,a very warm welcome awaits anyone who stay,s at the Claremont,Joy and Phil are great host,s.Tea and cake on arrival,restaurant recomendations and bookings if you wish,although we prefered to go and explore Keswick for ourselves.Phil has extensive knowledge of the lakes and Joy is a wonderfull cook,breakfasts are made to order with a great choice,each table has it,s own toaster,what a great idea.Room were clean and well presented,ensuite was beautiful in our Garden room.recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Claremont House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a group of five people, we were kindly allowed to stay only one night on Saturday. We arrive late in a rainy evening and received very warm welcome.

The rooms are comfy and ours has very nice views. Although the house is located along a main road, it is very quiet in the room.

The location is not the best but convenient enough to visit Keswick and other Lake District attractions, even if you want to walk into the town.

Recommended for all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcwq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We would like to recommend staying at Claremont House, the place is very clean and comfortable especially the bed, handy parking and only 10 mins walk to the town centre. Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. Phil & Joy are very freindly and make you very welcome, they gave us plenty of information for the local walks.We will be booking again for next year. Carol & Rob

Room Tip: We always stay in the Skiddaw room, very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in Skiddaw which was really nicely furnished and we were welcomed with tea and cake which was a nice touch. Useful advice from the host and hostess about the local area and some lovely walks. Breakfast was great - we particularly enjoyed the personal toaster! All in all we'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSandIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great three nights at Claremont House. Our room was an excellent one, decorated lovely, spotless and with a great view (Blencathra room). Breakfast was great, loved the individual toaster on each table and Phil's recommendations for what to do and see. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

We definately recommend a stay at this lovely place and look forward to another stay in the future. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I booked an overnight stay at Claremont House for a quick two day visit to th Lake District. Wonderful experience: delightful host and hostess Phil and Joy who were most welcoming, comfy and cosy ( and spotlessly clean accommodation) room and delicious breakfast.
Phil's suggestions about a driving/touring route helped us make the most of our limited time. A well-deserved four star rating and a very heartfelt thank-you to Phil and Joy.
Our only regret? We couldn't stay longer!

awd377

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandWDoylestown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our second visit and once again Claremont House didn't fail to delight us! A delicious breakfast freshly cooked to order by Joy ( I have to point out the individual toasters again as I think this is a huge plus!) served by Phil with friendly but not overbearing chat. He is incredibly knowledgeable about local walks etc so make sure you ask him for his directions as they are so easy to follow! The rooms are spotless and ours (Blencathra) has a huge, amazingly comfy bed, (ideal after walking the fells all day) and views over Blencathra, Latrigg and beyond. I was delighted to see a red squirrel (for the first time) munching away in the garden, I was surprised just how small & red they really are!
There really is no-where in Keswick I have received a warmer welcome and I will certainly be back time and time again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 189 in Keswick
600 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#17 of 189 in Keswick
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#16 of 189 in Keswick
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 189 in Keswick
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#26 of 189 in Keswick
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Address: Claremont House Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing