We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute break”

Lyndhurst Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyndhurst Guest House
Ranked #169 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
whitehaven
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Last minute break”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We are three couples who fancied a night in Keswick and has we only live 30 miles away we know keswick well, however one of the couples had stopped at Lyndhurst before. On arrival we were welcomed by the owner Barbara given the keys and shown to our room. the rooms were clean and comfy with tea and coffee facilities, it was about 5 mins from the centre we managed to get parked okay, the breakfast was spot on, none of us had any complaints aout our stay other than the weather. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamarrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    13
    0
    9
See reviews for
7
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a surprise weekend for my 40th, planned by my husband.
On arrival, we were welcomed and given our key. Just enough information, no fuss. Room was clean, bed was comfy, bathroom did the job. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. Lovely choice. I was welcomed on my birthday with a bottle of wine and a card, which made my day. Lovely little dog, no signs of dog other than a hello! Wouldn't hesitate to stay again x

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clare i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Good location as only 5 mins walk from centre. Can be quite difficult to find parking near to the guesthouse as always so busy. I was surprised when we arrived that the lady didn't ask our names, normally I've always had to fill in a card with my details but not here, was also just handed some keys, told which doors they were for & told which floor to go up to. Didn't get shown up to the room or told what time breakfast was, obviously could look it up ourselves in the information book in our room. The room was very small, warm & cosy, nicely decorated & very clean. The ensuite was very small & the water just trickled out of the shower, but again it was clean. Breakfast was half 8 - 9am. There wasn't many other guests whilst we were there so don't know if the quickness of service was due to that but a pot of tea arrived within 5 mins of sitting down, with toast quickly following & just as a bowl of cereal was being finished a large plate of full English breakfast arrived. It was a really good breakfast, keeping us full til tea & cake in the afternoon, no room for lunch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy211969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

There was a Friendly welcome. Good breakfast served. Clean and comfortable stay. Dog friendly. Very convenient for walking into Keswick. Car parking can be difficult but there are usually spaces available if you are prepared to walk a few years away.

Very reasonable able prices.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Uphollandlatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Room was comfortable and quiet, slept well with comfy beds, not the biggest room but it was clean and perfectly fine. Breakfast was really nice and Barbara was very friendly, enjoyable stay. Keswick has so much to see and do and a lovely park close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having decided to make a spur of the moment trip to Keswick for a couple of days I booked a room here and received confirmation prior to leaving home. On arrival in Keswick the owners continually refused to answer the door or to take telephone calls. While it was disappointing that a booking had been accepted when there was no room available mistakes do happen. What was totally unacceptable was their refusal to acknowledge this and to bury their heads in the sand. For several hours I was left in the position of not being sure if I had room, payment for which I would be liable if I were to no show! The delay caused by the Lyndhurst's refusal to acknowledge the error made the task of securing alternative accommodation that much more difficult. Needless to say the delay and the time spent making alternative arrangements did not make for a pleasant start to what was a short break. SPINELESS, AVOID!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keswick hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My boyfriend booked this guesthouse as a surprise for my birthday as I love keswick Lyndhurst is in a fantastic location just 2 mins walk into the centre, we were made to feel welcome and the breakfast was great, we ended up being the only guests staying due to everyone canceling due to terrible weather we were looked after and had a fantastic break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLPneedsaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#91 of 175 in Keswick
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#23 of 175 in Keswick
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Keswick Park Hotel
Keswick Park Hotel
#133 of 175 in Keswick
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#55 of 175 in Keswick
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndhurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndhurst Guest House

Property: Lyndhurst Guest House
Address: 22 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyndhurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lyndhurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing