We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beckside Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Visited early October for a single night with a friend, sharing a twin room. Wanted an inexpensive place close to the town.

If you want a simple, centrally located place with clean rooms, a friendly welcome and good food, then this place is ideal.

Decent sized room, good shower. Nice cooked breakfast too.

Cannot really fault this place. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamthecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Myself and three friends stayed with Andrew and Tracey on the 10th September for a girls night away. On arrival we had coffee and tea brought to our rooms. Breakfast on the Sunday was lush, Andrew and Tracey are a lovely couple. The rooms are spotless and the beds are really comfy. I am looking to book another night with Andrew and Tracey next year with my Hubby for a night away.

The house is a 10 minute walk from the centre, with a choice of restaurants and pubs. Apart from the weather, which you can never guarantee in the UK, we had a fab time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstott646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at this B&B whilst I completed the coast to coast bike ride.

The couple were excellent, as when I arrived I was totally soaked and full of mud. They provided a secure area to store my bike, hot drinks, which were very necessary, and even washed my coat for me to wear the next day!!

I would definately go back to this B&B again, just for a break this time, no biking involved.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying with Tracey and Andrew on more than one occasion. They are without a doubt the best hosts in the Lake District and I have no doubt that they would completely go out of their way to accomodate their guests. The room is always immaculate and the breakfasts are delicious. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALS0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Room was ok. Hosts were reluctant to serve breakfasts earlier than 8.30am - not good when one is travelling with deadlines (ferries) to meet!! We left without breakfast!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veekayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LomasKeswick, Owner at Beckside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

We are really suprised with this review, this couple requested an early breakfast which we agreed we would do a continental breakfast at 8.00am, we were preparing this when they knocked on our kitchen door at 7.10am to say they would have to leave immediateley. We offered orange juice, fruit etc but they insisted they had to leave, they did take some fresh fruit from the dining room. We feel the review is unjustified when we tried to accomodate their requests for an early breakfast.

We do feel aggrieved with the above comments and perplexed after the guests left leaving this comment in our guest book, we quote "Great room - wish it was not so rushed. Thank you"

We pride ourselves on our customer service and always try to accomodate people where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at. Tracey and Andrew are wonderful hosts and they make you feel like family. I will definitely be back to visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runnergurl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Only stayed one night but great standard and for the price, very friendly people,excellent breakfast and special touches in the room was very much appreciated - will definately be returning to the Beckside Guest House. Many thanks for making our stay special. Rosa & John Bell

Room Tip: very central to beautiful Keswick, lots to see and do and the weather was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strada17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#48 of 189 in Keswick
172 reviews
5 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckside Guesthouse

Address: 5 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $104 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beckside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing