We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, beer, service and music :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pack Horse Inn

Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #42 of 128 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, beer, service and music :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Top night at Pack Horse in Keswick. My husband and I decided at the last minute to go out for dinner on what turned out to be an extremely busy Friday night. Excellent decision to go to the Pack Horse. Dinner was excellent - I had thai fish cake followed by mussles whilst my hubby had the pate and and lamb shank. All were looked great and tasted delicious. I took photos of the mains (forgot to take them earlier) - will post photos when I download them. The desserts looked delicious but we were so full from the starter and main course that there was no room for pudding! The service was very friendly and professional even though they were clearly very busy. After dinner we decided to stay on and enjoy the live music. Really great night out, well priced, great food, good portion sizes and a good selection of real ales. We'll definitely be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kizzie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    214
    58
    42
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited last week. Pub is arranged in tiers with an order at the bar arrangement on the ground floor and on the top floor you have someone come take your order at the table making it feel a bit more formal - although it was exactly the same menu. We would have preferred the less formal feel but the ground floor was full so we we had no choice. Food was excellent though. I had the hazelnut, brie and spinach wellington, it was absolutely gorgeous so no complaints here and price was average for a pub meal in Keswick.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tillymint1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton St Philip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good pub grub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

With wheelchair and dog in tow this pub had easy access which is a must for us. The food was good and service excellent on the first trip in the week, but not so good on Saturday - just shows how individuals can really make a difference to a customers experience. The mains were great with large portions and cooked really well, but starters were not quite to same level, tasty pate, but soup a bit bland. Overall it was good pub grub!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly chilled out atmosphere with perfect pub grub food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My partner and I visited the packhorse inn during a weekend break to Keswick.
The staff were accommodating to say we hadn't booked and the place was very busy.
We enjoyed a gorgeous steak, salad and chips and a beautiful bottle of Shiraz. It had a great atmosphere and both the locals and the owners were exceptional in making us feel welcome. We stayed for several drinks and will definitely return next time we have a break to the beautiful Keswick.
I would recommend to anyone and would like to thank the chef and staff for our pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswick
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a packhorse burger and a sticky toffee pudding i must say it was one of the if not the best meal i have ever had i recomend everyone to go and its all at the right price !!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slacker132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pack Horse Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing