We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place-for a couple & dog”
Review of Larry's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Larry's Lodge
Ranked #65 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murton-Seaham Co-Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great friendly place-for a couple & dog”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We arrived way after check after a big hike up Walla Crag (a moderate walk approx 3 hrs) and the owners were not fazed at all. They made us and the dog extremly welcome and offered us a choice of breakfast which was great and unexpected. As we were wet from our hike Dave stuffed our shoes with paper and we used the dog towel available. The rooms were really clean and warm which is what you need after all the fresh air in Keswick. Its a really short stroll into town and there are some great dog friendly pubs and restaurants in town. The breakfast is really nice with home made bread and marmelade we were really impressed with the level of service and care we recieved. All in all we will definately be back theres loads to do and see and if you love walking, sightseeing and homemade food its the best little town to visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for a great review. Kyle and Arthur really look forward to welcoming Baxter again to Larry's Lodge.
Regards from Sue, Dave, Kyle and Arthur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    23
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
81
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed the one night stay. Though the single room was very small, it was very compact having everything that I needed. I suppose the only thing I missed was a bedside table/chair. Breakfast excellent and the hospitality most kind and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for you comments, we do appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you in the future.
Regards from Sue and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Great stay,brilliant hosts,ideal location being only 5 mins walk from the town centre.Dave and sue were attentive hosts and very knowledgable about local walks ,pubs,etc which makes this a great place to stay for walkers.dog owners etc. We stayed for 3 nights with our small dog, the room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated.The only downside was the toilet location being so close to the bathroom door.The breakfast was great and the homemade toast and local marmalade were a great touch.The owners dogs were adorable and very well behaved,unlike our own dog.I would recommend this hotel for anyone holidaying with there dog.We would definately stay here again.lots of nice touches that make this hotel stand out from the rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Its always nice to here from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us. You have a delightful little dog and have given him a good home. We look forward to welcoming you all again.

Regards from Sue, Dave, Kyle and Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We couldn't have been better looked after by Sue and Dave. Comfortable and clean rooms and everything we needed was provided. Great breakfast and the toast was wonderful. Dave's own varieties of home-made bread were superb. The owners' dogs, Kyle and Arthur, were very well-behaved and our Guide-dog in training, Corky, really enjoyed his stay. A good value B&B in a very popular town.

Room Tip: Tell the owners if you have any special needs, they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. Its very rewarding to us when guests appreciate the effort we put in to make sure they have a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Regards Sue, Dave, Kyle and Arthur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Larry's Lodge was spotlessly clean, breakfast was great, Sue and Dave very attentive hosts. As with other B&B's, I founf the single room to be very small and of course no ensuit. Not sure why B&B's seem to think people on their own don't require the same standard of ammenity as a couple. I understand the economics but disappointing. Having said that, It was my choice to book the single room knowing the situation and the bathroom was beautiful, with the option for a bath at the end of a hard day sightseeing. I enjoyed my stay at Larry's Place, friendly people and Keswick is a beautiful place I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Front rooms on the street not too noisy at night but thin curtains so room very light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for you comments, we do appreciate your feedback.. Our single bedroom (with its own private bath and separate private shower room) is our most popular room. We do hope to welcome you in the future.
Kind Regards from Sue and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Larrys Lodge owners Sue and Dave made me feel very welcome. Excellent hosts. I stayed in the single bedroom for 2 nights in September and the room was perfect for myself. Separate bathroom and shower room but they were for my use only. Looking forward to staying again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Hazel T

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us. We all enjoyed your company and look forward to meeting you again.

Kind Regards

Sue, Dave, Kyle and Theo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

No one could be more helpful than Dave and Sue at Larry's Lodge. Great food, great location in Keswick and great advice

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
It was great to meet and welcome you to Larry's Lodge. We do appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Regards Sue, Dave, Kyle and Arthur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#78 of 175 in Keswick
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#94 of 175 in Keswick
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#87 of 175 in Keswick
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larry's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larry's Lodge

Property: Larry's Lodge
Address: 39 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sue and Dave look forward to welcoming you to Larry's Lodge B&B, a slate constructed town house in Keswick. Our pet friendly, 4 star establishment has en-suite twin and double and rooms plus a compact, standard single with private bathroom & shower room. We are ideally situated for Keswick town centre ( 6~8 mins walk ) and the Theatre By The Lake ( 15 mins walk ). Come and try our homemade bread and marmalade with your breakfast. Cyclists and walkers welcome. We can offer plenty of advice on what to do, where to eat plus information about lots of local walks with good places to paint and sketch. Free WiFi for our guests. Maximum 1 dog per room. Please check our DOG RULES before booking dogs. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Larry's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing