We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting place, could do with a facelift”
Review of The Puzzling Place

The Puzzling Place
Ranked #8 of 63 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique exhibition based on optical illusion. Witness balls rolling uphill in the antigravity room, visibly grow and shrink in the Ames room and be amazed by our interactive optical illusion exhibits, artwork and sculptures, as well as the hologram gallery!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting place, could do with a facelift”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Packed full of optical illusions, the museum offers a fun diversion for a couple of hours. some of the exhibits appeared a bit dated, but overall a worthwhile visit

Helpful?
Thank pf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    363
    100
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Me and my boyfriend were on a short break in Keswick, and I had seen this place on the net so we gave it a go! Cheap entry and definitely worth the money (which makes a nice change!). Its right in the town centre as well which is handy! We really enjoyed ourselves! Plenty to see and do for all the family! Would highly recommend to others! :)

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kerjemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, we were left feeling very confused, in a good way!”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

what a brilliant place to visit, me and the missus found this place by fluke and thought sounded great, cheap enty 3.50 i think, and only a smallplace, but from the word go we were amazed,some really brain bending illusions and some amazing 3d images, my partner got freaked out by some things and we were both constantly saying, how the hell does that work,

MUST VISIT!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank ScottL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The positive reviews on tripasvisor led my wife and I to visit Puzzling Place and we weren't let down. The puzzles and illusions were well presented and explained. My favourite was the 'leaning over' room (can't remember the proper name...), after even a few seconds in the room it was incredibly disorientating and I felt like I was drunk!

The earlier review which says this attraction is like a three bedroom flat is a little misleading, it is more spacious than that but it isn't a huge place. I can see it getting quite crowded during peak times.

My only criticism is that we visited on a Sunday in February; the attraction is supposed to open at 11 but according to the shop next door 'they open when they feel like' but it was only a minor niggle and it meant we ended up having a look round the excellent toy shop next door.

Helpful?
Thank Abo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant for all ages!”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Went in a party with children aged between 6 and 17 and we all loved it. A brilliant way to while away a couple of hours. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank stivesaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Puzzling Place also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Puzzling Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing