We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of Fell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fell House
Ranked #89 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Fell House, Keswick. Barbara and Colin were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The room was incredibly clean, bright, comfortable and nice. Breakfast had a lovely atmosphere and the cooked breakfast was yummy. Above all, what made this little place special were the owners Barbara and Colin who were friendly, charming and simply a delight. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bignettyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

We recently had a stay at Fell House. We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival. The room was very comfortable and relaxing and to a high standard. It really was spotless.
We also stayed at a well known Hotel near Ambleside which was really nice however, the breakfast at Fell House was far better. Loved it!!
We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review, it is always very nice to get a pat on the back, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Fell House is a spotlessly clean warm and friendly B& B in a great location in Keswick.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elecSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again so you can do more walking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I have just come back from two nights here on 10th/11th December 2011 and is the second time this year we have stayed at this excellent b&b. The Hossacks are a lovely friendly couple who can't do enough for you. The rooms are spotless, nicely decorated and furnished with everything you need. The breakfasts are very tasty, exactly what you need for a hard days walking in the fells and Babara will cook whatever you fancy. Thank you both for an excellent weekend and we hope to come again soon!. Merry Christmas x.
Janette L

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

It is very encouraging to receive lovely reviews like this and, coming from returning visitors makes it even more special.
Thank you very much,

Babs & Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Fell house last weekend and had a wonderfull time. The rooms are clean and well equipped and the house is in a central location but in a quieter cul de sac, a two minute walk from the main square. The breakfasts are delicious and Barbara uses fresh local ingredients. The mushrooms were the best that I have ever tasted. From start to finish we were made to feel welcome and we even had a reminder to put our clocks back on saturday night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Urbogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend with my parents in Keswick staying at Fell House. This is in a very good position, just a stones throw from the centre and amenities. We received a warm welcome from the start. Bedrooms were modern, comfortable and warm. Breakfasts are very good with plenty of hot tea or coffee to wash it down. Colin and Barbara were very friendly and enjoyed a laugh and a joke with all their guests. Service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for this very nice review, we hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is a beautiful guest house in a prime location. We came here 18 year ago and it is as good now which is refreshing to say. We had no doubts about how clean and well equipted it would be. The breakfasts are very good too. If you dont wish to use your car there are many walks from the door and there are plenty of bars and resturants within 3.5 mins walk. This is a guest house of a high standard and deserves the rating.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheilprk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

It is very heartening to receive this revue and to know that returning visitors can be confident that we are maintaining our high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#93 of 189 in Keswick
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#42 of 189 in Keswick
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellergill
Ellergill
#96 of 189 in Keswick
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#150 of 189 in Keswick
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#18 of 189 in Keswick
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#28 of 189 in Keswick
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fell House

Address: 28 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $72 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fell House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Keswick b&b Fell House Bed & Breakfast was built in circa 1884 and is a warm and friendly Victorian Lakeland House with lots of charm located in the beautiful North Lake District town of Keswick and has retained many of it's original features, including pitch pine staircase and doors, and in the breakfast room, a white marble fire place complete with copper canopy made by Keswick Industrial Arts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing