We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good beer but food was awful”
Review of The Inn at Keswick Restaurant - CLOSED

The Inn at Keswick Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We popped in on a Sunday lunchtime. Staff were friendly and the drinks were nice and decently priced. However both of our meals were poor. The Sunday roast with all the trimmings for £9.95 had the look and taste of microwaved beef slices, with two roast potatoes and some token, but poor, vegetables. We should have complained but got the impression this is the normal standard of food and that a hungry walker would have just been grateful for some grub.

Thank petemid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

We have worked really hard with chefs recently on the #perfect sunday, sounds like we need to go back to the drawing board . Please accept my apologies & a promise we will get it right in the very near future , i.m pleased you mentioned our friendly staff & hope you will give us another try next time your in Keswick
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 102 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Have eaten twice at The Inn this week. On both occasions my husband had the steak pie with perfectly cooked veg, I had the endless but delicious Macaroni Cheese the first time and a gorgeous Ploughman's Platter the second time - both of which defeated me. Sadly we had no room for dessert but the menu looked lovely.

This is the 5th time we've visited The Inn (Previously the Keswick Lodge) and each time it has been brilliant. The roaring fire is a welcome plus on cold and wet days. Best of all it's dog friendly which is why we pick it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your experience with us ,hope to see you next time, we are having some work done, so we hope to impress even more & thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We ate here first night of our holiday, my rump steak was ultimately the best I had all week, my wife's enormous toad in the hole was also a right tasty treat, and accompanied it all with a couple of pints of Wainwright's, and good company we met to have a social drink and laugh with. The staff were engaging and made us feel really welcome, highly recommended we will definitely be back next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spearman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your steak & toad in the hole ,we like to think we do pub food very well ,and really pleased our team were engaging ,I like to think it makes a difference ,hope to see you on your next visit to Keswick
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Dog friendly pub/restaurant, really pleasant place. We had the steak which was outstanding. Highly recommend this place for a bite to eat and a warm by the fire

Thank DarrenHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi, GREAT NEWS , we are having some work done soon to refresh the inn ,& make your stay even better. we have worked hard this year on hospitality ,its great to hear its bearing fruit . Hope to see you soon in Keswick
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Another visit to the Inn at Keswick. Out of season so price was a complete bargain. Stayed in the family room again which to be fair could do with a make over as it is starting to look a bit dire, so Shire Hotels put your hands in your pocket!! The service from the staff was outstanding. From the easy friendly check in/out to the service in the bar and restaurant. We were looked after very well by the bar and restaurant staff who served exceptional food and continuously checked we were being seen too. I think the Inn only let itself down on the room being out do date and in need of a overhaul so because the staff go out of their way to give a five star service maybe the hotel owners should compliment their staff by spending on a make over to give an overall five star stay.

Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, general manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi
We accept we need some freshening up in some areas ,and some scheduled improvements are on the horizon, glad you enjoyed our hospitality ,its something we have all worked hard on to improve this year ,and long may it continue, hope to see you soon next time your in Keswick
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Keswick Restaurant also viewed

 
Newlands Valley, Keswick
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing