We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy new year”
Review of The Inn at Keswick Restaurant - CLOSED

The Inn at Keswick Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Happy new year”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had an excellent new year at The Inn the service was excellent and the quality of food was superb. Considering it was New Year's Eve nothing was too much trouble and the owner came over to say hello and ask how we were. A great night lovely atmosphere and all for £25 per head. Not forgetting the excellent pint of wainwrights bitter.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, manager inn@keswick at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Happy new year to you & thanks for your positive comments, i think we all enjoyed new year ,the atmosphere was great & pleased you enjoyed your wainwrights ,hope to see you next year & all the very best .
Regards
Tim
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    13
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at the inn with my partner last Wednesday night for bed and breakfast on arrival we were greeted in a friendly manner and shown to our room which was nice but had no hot water as they had had a problem with the boiler. On reporting this to the bar manager we were upgraded to the suite which was a very nice room at no extra charge. I work in a best western hotel in the lakes so I no a good level of service and was very impressed with the professional way we were delt with and would recommend anybody looking to stay in Keswick to go to the inn. All in all a very plesent stay

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
With being in the industry yourself, you will know all about the maintenance issues that occur and sometimes they just cannot be helped, but we do our best to rectify them as soon as possible.

I'm pleased we looked after you and you left happy. We do work hard on our customer service, and i'm glad we dealt with the problem professionally. We hope to see you again next time you're in Keswick.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at the Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We've been in here plenty of times over the years when it had a different name. We popped in for tea on a Friday, it was busy but we were found a table with no bother. I had the lamb hot pot, which was superb, I see a couple of complaints about this dish, but mine was really good, loads of well cooked lamb, nice spud topping and a big wedge of bread and red cabbage on the side. My misses had the seafood platter, she said it was very good and we both left clean plates! Will go again for food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your meals. We have been working really hard to improve our dishes and it's always nice to receive a compliment. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at the Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“lovely and pleasent”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we love this place when we came across it when we visited Keswick, we will come back any day when we can
the meals was amazing my partner had the lamb hot pot which she really enjoyed as commented as one of the best she has every had.
the surrounding was good and clean. the service was quick despite it being busy,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments, they mean a lot to us, as we use them for staff training purposes. We hope to see you soon, next time you're in Keswick.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at the Inn at Keswick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gristle hot pot”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Three of us ordered the lamb hotpot, which was just gristle. Portion was small, after removing the gristle there was very little left. The waiter could not have been less interested in our complaint.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverfox789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Please accept my apologies regarding your experience. I'm sorry that the size of our dish was smaller than expected. All members of staff do there best to give a true Keswick welcome and i'm sorry than in this instance we may have let our standards slip. I hope on your next visit to Keswick you may revisit us and allow us to rectify and make your visit an enjoyable one.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at the Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Keswick Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing