We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gristle hot pot”
Review of The Inn at Keswick Restaurant - CLOSED

The Inn at Keswick Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Three of us ordered the lamb hotpot, which was just gristle. Portion was small, after removing the gristle there was very little left. The waiter could not have been less interested in our complaint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Silverfox789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Please accept my apologies regarding your experience. I'm sorry that the size of our dish was smaller than expected. All members of staff do there best to give a true Keswick welcome and i'm sorry than in this instance we may have let our standards slip. I hope on your next visit to Keswick you may revisit us and allow us to rectify and make your visit an enjoyable one.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at the Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 102 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Just climbed Skiddaw and staying on Campsite in Keswick. Came into town and called by chance at The Inn. Beer is good and food very fair. Gammon and Fish & Chips.

Thank CononleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments hearty fare is needed after a trek up skiddaw. I did it myself once, and still aching! Hope to see you again at the Inn soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Thwaites beer served tasted a bit watered-down. Although the staff were incredibly helpful and service excellent, they were a little let down by the quality of the food. Lamb hotpot was very salty whilst the halloumi and aubergine in my partners burger were pretty unsubstantial.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, being a part of the Thwaites Inns of Character group, we take great pride in how we keep and serve all our cask ales, so much so we are Cask Marque accredited.

We work hard on our food offering and try to ensure it’s of the highest standard. Unfortunately we seem to have fallen short and for this I sincerely apologise. There are changes being made to both the menu and processes so I hope that you will pay us another visit in the future in order for us to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at the Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my fiance for meal last night. I ordered sausage patty with chips and it was delicious. She ordered bangers and mash and it was a bit of a disappointment as there was next to no mash and raw onions instead of caramelised. We mentioned this to the staff and to their immense credit, rectified this very well and desserts were free. Brownies were had and were good. Although there was a disappointing dish in there it was dealt with brilliantly and we may well go back next time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank balany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

The most important thing for us is, our customers leaving happy and feel they have had value for money. Thanks for your comments I will share them with the rest of the team and hope to see you next time your in Keswick.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at the Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Enjoyed the sausage and mash, and lamb hotpot after a long day! Sausage and mash dish was large but surprisingly had no vegetables so had to order a side dish to accompany it. The lamb hotpot was lovely and seemed very popular with the tables around us too.

It was a nice warm setting that gradually got busier and busier into the evening. We arrived at about 6pm and were lucky to get a table. The place was very popular and around 7pm there were queues to get tables.

The popularity of the place gives an accurate illustration of the tasty food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 10ali01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

I'm very pleased you enjoyed your visit and your meal. Check us out next time you are in Keswick, as our Winter menu is launching soon with some new dishes - Toad in the hole take your fancy?

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Keswick Restaurant also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing