We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality Food”
Review of The Inn at Keswick Restaurant - CLOSED

The Inn at Keswick Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the Kind of Place that gives the English food BAD reputation , Just Been for a meal with few friends, The service was non- existing , the food ( Fish & Chips ) was absolutely awful , It really makes one wonder how a CHEF !!! can actually serve food that's not fit to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pahlbod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologises for your recent visit. Its obvious from your comments we are getting it wrong at certain times, we are striving to be more consistent and hope you will give us another try on your next visit to Keswick. Rest assured we will use your comments and poor experience to get consistently better.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    13
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing local food in a place full of character”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

In a town full of places of this ilk, The Inn at Keswick does stand above the rest.
The bar has a great choice of drinks and the menu is pretty varied - lots of choice and some interesting picks.
Local veg is a big pull for me - they trade veg for beer tokens with local gardeners & allotment holders, so you know your food has a good chance of zero food miles and maximum freshness.
Most things seem to be made in the kitchen, so options for allergy sufferers are wider (although you have to wait while the staff go and chat with the chef). The staff get top marks for friendliness - not many pub-type places get staff this nice and welcoming, especially in tourist-traps like Keswick.
Service was quick, and the atmosphere was fantastic - it also seemed a good place to bring children, if you're that way inclined.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteCriddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I'm so glad you think we stand above the rest in Keswick, we try very hard with menu planning, local provenance and the right people to serve our food and drink. Keswick is very competitive and we won't rest on our laurels, positive and negative comments alike our used as a tool to make us better. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Keswick.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing pub grub!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent menu for both adults and kids. The food did take s while to come out but when it did it was stunning. Tasted great and was well presented. Both myself and wife and bothour children cleared our plates. Hughly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I'm glad you and the kids enjoyed your meal. At very busy times you will have to wait a little longer, though I am glad you thought it was worth the wait. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal here in August. The food was lovely and was great value. Great atmosphere and the staff were lovely. Would recommend the deli boards which were tasty and plentiful, As was the cheeseboard which neither myself or my husband and could finish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments, we get a lot of feedback on the deli boards. I agree they look and taste delicious. Thank you for mentioning the team, we all work very hard to achieve a high standard in a very competitive market place. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Meal at The Inn @ Keswick”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

OK so the father in law was paying which made the meal taste better before we even got to the pub, but everything was sound. The service, the timing, the wine, the food ---all spot on. I recommend the "nibbles" as a starter to share especially the mini Cumberland Sausages! Oh and by the way the Wainrights Ale is excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It's always nice when someone else picks up the tab! So glad you enjoyed your visit and the team looked after you regarding food, wine, timing and of course not forgetting our great Cask Ales. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Keswick Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing