We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B & lovely hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beeches Guest House
Ranked #32 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely B&B & lovely hosts.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Beeches Guest House is certainly up there as a recommended stay. It has been beautifully and extensively restored with period features retained. The hallway is particularly lovely and the rooms we used were spotlessly clean.Our room was decorated in soft neutral tones, the bed was very comfortable and the large circular headed shower was powerful. All in all, it made for a very peaceful and pleasant place to return, after our walks or shopping trips.
The breakfast selection was varied, plentiful and very tasty. There are allocated parking spaces at the front of the property. Although not in the centre of Keswick, it only took us 15-20 minutes to walk to the main shopping area and restaurants.
Brian & Irene made us feel very welcome and if we were to return to Keswick, involving an overnight stay, The Beeches certainly would be a lovely place to return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suez133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
188
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have previously stayed in hotels in Keswick but were attracted by the reviews for the Beeches. This proved a good choice and we were pleasantly surprised.
The Beeches is a small but quite elegant B&B. Our room was well decorated and nicely furnished with all the facilities you would expect for a comfortable stay. More importantly, it was immaculately clean, the bed was comfortable and the power shower was hot.
The full English breakfast exceeded the quality of breakfasts provided by hotels we have stayed at this year in both Harrogate and York. It was obvious that the breakfast had been freshly cooked to order with the best quality ingredients used.
The walk into the centre of Keswick is easy and avoids the roads, so after checking in and parking our car in one of the allocated bays, we did not need to move it again until we checked out.
We will definitely stay at the Beeches again when we return to Keswick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Beeches is a first class B&B. We stayed for 6 nights at the end of June. We picked this B&B from the great reviews that it had and they certainly matched up to their report and we would certainly recommend this place to anyone. We had a lovely, spotless, spacious room, a very comfy bed and a great bathroom with lovely fluffy towels. Our breakfast every morning had a good choice cooked to perfection. Along the old railway line path is a lovely walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Beeches but we can say that the place is very high quality, the room very comfortable with a large bathroom, and one of the best breakfasts we have ever tasted. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Came for two nights with my boyfriend for a relaxing time away. The B&B was incredibly clean, spacious, peaceful and very comfortable. It's a nice, not too long walk into Keswick along the old railway line. The bed in our room was huge, there was freeview TV and a modern bathroom. The owners were extremely accommodating and welcoming. They even catered a special breakfast for my boyfriend's dietary requirements. I had a full cooked breakfast which was really good with what seemed to be excellent quality products. We will definitely stay there again soon, and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Izy_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Beeches for a long weekend. It is a lovely hotel, very comfortable, clean and stylish room. The breakfast is lovely with a good choice. Brian and Irena were so friendly. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJL475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just came back from the beeches having stayed Friday and Saturday.

Room was modern, very clean and a good size.

The breakfast was really good, clearly the owners use good quality produce and are happy to cook whatever you would like.

I would definitely stay there again although if you like to be in the centre of town it's not for you as about a 20 min walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 173 in Keswick
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 173 in Keswick
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#45 of 173 in Keswick
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 173 in Keswick
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#72 of 173 in Keswick
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Guest House

Property: The Beeches Guest House
Address: Beeches Guest House Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beeches is a large Victorian residence built in 1884 which has recently undergone extensive restoration by its owners Brian and Irena Hough. The house has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary, yet comfortable style retaining many of the original features. The Beeches provides elegant and relaxing accommodation and is the ideal base from which to explore Keswick and the stunning Lake District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Beeches Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing