We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and stylish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beeches Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beeches Guest House
Ranked #29 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable and stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just came back from the beeches having stayed Friday and Saturday.

Room was modern, very clean and a good size.

The breakfast was really good, clearly the owners use good quality produce and are happy to cook whatever you would like.

I would definitely stay there again although if you like to be in the centre of town it's not for you as about a 20 min walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
180
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for my 18th birthday weekend, due to a few complications with the car my mum and dad had to bring us all the way to keswick from whitby. When we arrived Brian and Irena made tea and biscuits for my very tired family before they had to tavel home again the same day! Brian and Irena knew we weren't going to have any form of transport during our stay and helped us out with where to catch the bus and timetables etc, when we were leaving we weren't getting picked up untill late afternoon even though the departure time was supposed to be 10am Brian said we could keep the room for aslong as we needed until we got picked up! They are an absolutely couple and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and there were lots of different choices, (I absolutely hate tomatoes but the ones here I LOVED I even had extra). The rooms were so clean and tidy there really isnt anything to complain about! The beds were soooooooo comfy, the location is great as its not far to walk in to the town. We loved every minute of our stay and we will definitely be returning as soon as we can. Thank you Brian and Irena for making my birthday weekend so lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very friendly and accomodating, everything you need and a very short walk from Keswick centre, would definetely recommend, excellent! Choice of breakfast to suit your needs too.
The hosts made us feel very welcome throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaL1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at The Beeches, and I can say with my hand on my heart that it is the best B&B I have ever stayed in - and I've stayed in a fair few (including several others in Keswick!).
This is a beautiful period property, with high ceilings and large airy rooms, decorated simply and beautifully. The bedclothes and towels were crisp, clean and fresh; the rooms and bathrooms spotless and really relaxing; the beds extremely comfortable; the hospitality warm and welcoming; and the breakfasts ample and excellent.
I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Don't check any others out: if you can book a room here, you're onto a winner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlady82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose The Beeches for a 'reunion' weekend for three couple who meet each year. The main reason for the choice was the availability of a lounge where we could spend time together in the evening. What a super choice we made - the rooms were lovely and warm and very comfortable. Breakfast was a real joy and the lounge was perfect for our evenings (especially with the roaring log fire and glasses for the wine). Irena and Brian were perfect hosts and provided us with lots of useful local information. We will be back next time we visit Keswick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil-Gunn-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the cordial greeting to a sad parting, the delightful hosts, Brian and Irena, went the extra mile, in every respect, to ensure our time in the Lake District, was a happy and memorable experience.The accommodation is exceedingly comfortable and tastefully appointed with fine attention to detail.Excellent breakfasts from locally sourced produce provided full sustenance and fuel for all activities undertaken.Our hosts local knowledge not only of places of interest but also dinner venues added to the overall enjoyment of our stay. Everything about our visit to The Beeches and Keswick was perfect in every particular and we look forward, with eager anticipation, to meeting our hosts again and staying in their exemplary accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a couple of nights here on the strength of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, and it exceeded all expectations.
A free upgrade to a lovely room, as we were the only guests that weekend. The room was expensively furnished, looking out over Skiddaw. A fabulous bathroom with thick fluffy towels. Tea, coffee and a selection of biscuits were provided and replenished the next day.
The best part was when we actually went to bed, such a comfortable bed, 6 feet wide and a quilt that you could disappear into!
I say that was the best part, but even better was breakfast! We opted for the full English, two grilled on-the-vine tomatoes on a piece of fried bread, back bacon, egg, mushrooms and a thick, very meaty Cumberland sausage, makes my mouth water thinking about it even now, and it certainly set us up for the day!
Brian and Irena are fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrenaHough, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, we are thrilled that you enjoyed both the bed and the breakfast so much. Please come back and see us soon.
Irena and Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.2 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#10 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dalegarth House
Dalegarth House
#2 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Guest House

Property: The Beeches Guest House
Address: Beeches Guest House Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beeches is a large Victorian residence built in 1884 which has recently undergone extensive restoration by its owners Brian and Irena Hough. The house has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary, yet comfortable style retaining many of the original features. The Beeches provides elegant and relaxing accommodation and is the ideal base from which to explore Keswick and the stunning Lake District National Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing