We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by far the best b&b in keswick!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beeches Guest House
Ranked #31 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“by far the best b&b in keswick!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

what a beautiful house,with a lovely lounge full of books,tv & dvd player,we had an amazing breakfast,which could of been anything we asked for,we had a great modern clean room,this is a perfect b&b,and brian was a great host,this place should be number 1, dont stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: number 3 was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
188
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We looked at Tripadvisor for an alternative to our preferred Keswick B&B as it is very often fully booked. Having tried a few others in the past and been much less than impressed, we turned to the reviews on this site for guidance this time.

The boxes we were looking to tick - good value, something that looks and feels a bit special, modern but in keeping with the area, friendly and with a great breakfast.

I'm delighted to say The Beeches did not disappoint on any of these fronts! We would heartily recommend staying here, and we certainly will be again without question, if our 'usual' haunt is busy.

Room 2 was where we stayed and we were delighted with it - though it doesn't have a bath, which we were slightly sad about - but to make up for it the shower is epic.

We had bought a bottle of champagne to toast our weekend away and had left it in the room to go for a wander into town. When we returned, we found that Brian and Irena had chilled the bottle just perfectly for us - a great personal touch which we both really appreciated!

The only thing we'd say is that perhaps we'd like to order breakfast each morning when we go downstairs rather than when we first arrive at the guest house - and we'd prefer to select the items we'd like from the available menu.

We were asked if it would be 'full English' when we first arrived and we said yes, though we assumed we'd be asked in the morning exactly what we'd prefer. The following morning two (very beautifully cooked and utterly delicious) full English breakfasts arrived on our table in a very efficient manner, but my girlfriend has a strange 'phobia'(?!) of eggs - and of course there was an egg on her plate. From there she just nibbled round the outside a little trying to avoid 'anything that had touched the egg' and I ended up with the rest.

I realise this is probably an odd situation as I've never met another human being who is 'scared' of eggs, but even I would like to feel like there's a choice - even if I do end up choosing the same thing every day!

We did ask on day two for the egg to be put on my plate though, and of course this was no problem at all.

Previous posts about the 'unfriendly' nature of the hosts, I'm afraid I just can't agree with. Both were lovely, very accommodating and extremely friendly. Irena suggested a few events which were going on in Keswick that evening, which would otherwise have turned into a night in front of the telly - so she helped us make the most of the limited time we had in the Lakes this time.

And with regard to the beds not being made - ours was. And speaking of the bed, it is utterly fantastic.

I've marked The Beeches with five stars for everything except location only because it's a mile or two out of the centre of Keswick meaning either a jump in the car or a slightly longer walk (fine during the day, a bit tedious later on when you just want to put your feet up!) Actually, it's closer to town than our usual haunt in Keswick. It's a perfectly manageable walk, and actually a very nice one if you use the railway path during daylight hours.

Book The Beeches, and you won't be disappointed. A credit to Brian and Irena, well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikerichardson1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The welcome is warm and the guest house does not disappoint. The room was huge as was the bed and immaculately clean. The en suite was excellent and had the biggest shower head I've ever seen. We had a full English breakfast and it was delicious, especially the sausage. The parking is good but you do have to walk some way to the heart of Keswick. I would highly recommend the Beeches and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: go for the super kingsize room the bed could sleep a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

this is heaven on earth for us we come every year with or without the kids, Irena and Brian are so lovely and so accomodating , breakfast is to die for , the rooms are pristine and we are always made to feel welcome , they sort us out where to eat on an evening nothing is too much trouble once you have been you will never go anywhere else . thank you for having us back every year :)

Room Tip: any they are all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggienorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just stayed at the beeches for a 2 night stay.The breakfasts were fab room very clean and tastefull and the bed was really comfortable one of the best nights sleeps at a b&b.Good location not to far from keswick centre just a short walk down the old railway track.Brian and Irene were exeptional, very friendly nothing to much trouble. Very reasonable price cannot praise enough.
Mr & Mrs Astle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We recently spent a weekend in Keswick, staying at the Beeches, celebrating a friend's birthday. The guesthouse is lovely, the rooms very comfortable and the proprietors extremely helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a B&B in the Keswick area I would recommend the Beeches very highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a wonderful guesthouse. We hired the whole guesthouse for birthday celebrations, and it was fantastic. The proprietors are kind and friendly, and always ready to help! The guesthouse itself is decorated to an exceptional standard, and the beds are so comfy I didn't want to get out of bed!!! I would return to this guesthouse without question :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snizzy-Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 173 in Keswick
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 173 in Keswick
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#45 of 173 in Keswick
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#71 of 173 in Keswick
48 reviews
3.0 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Guest House

Property: The Beeches Guest House
Address: Beeches Guest House Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beeches is a large Victorian residence built in 1884 which has recently undergone extensive restoration by its owners Brian and Irena Hough. The house has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary, yet comfortable style retaining many of the original features. The Beeches provides elegant and relaxing accommodation and is the ideal base from which to explore Keswick and the stunning Lake District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Beeches Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing