We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring the area”
Review of YHA Keswick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Typical YH features with helpful staff and great restaurant. Comfortable room with good nearby showers. Big lounge and good drying room. Lovely location on river. Near to town shops, but also near enough to hills, paths et.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your great comments about the hostel, staff and location. The area is suitable for all ages with lots to do and the staff are on hand to provide first hand advice. We hope you will re-visit and enjoy the remainder of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Keswick YHA is a top quality hostel staffed by friendly, helpful staff and in an excellent location, 5 mins walk from the town centre and with a balcony overlooking the river and with views of the fells in the background. The dorms are small, but clean and comfortable, the self catering kitchen is well equipped and the common areas are well looked after and spacious. £13 a night, can't beat that for value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the high standards of the hostel and friendly staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and dkeep your eye on the yha website for more special offers and reduced price beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights with my granddaughter in the Easter holidays and we were both very pleased with the hostel. It is in an ideal postion with lovely views of Fitz Park and the hills and only a very short walk from the town. The hostel is very clean and the staff were helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the evening meal good value. Our only gripe was the chilliness (temperature and atmosphere) of the dining area although, admittedly, we stayed during a very cold spell at the beginning of April, and also we had to wait over an hour for our meal - a long time for a young girl. But this is a hostel, not a restaurant and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teens_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments about Keswick and the Hostel. We always aim to provide clean, comfortable accommodtion with friendly staff and good food. I am sorry you had to wait for dinner and will find out why this was. We look forward to having you visit again and hope you enjoy the rest of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family stayed in a family room at this hostel in April 2013. We stayed for 3 nights and I found all the staff helpful.

The self-catering kitchen, whilst basic, which does seem to be the way at YHAs, was perfectly adequate, and allowed us to cook plenty of meals. Eating space is quite limited as there are only 3 tables in the kitchen/dining room area on the first floor. There is a large restaurant on the ground floor but I think that is for paying customers. Nevertheless, the seating was adequate and we didn't have to wait for a table.

The hostel was very clean, and in a lovely location right next to the river.

My son particularly enjoyed the pool table and there is large and comfy TV lounge. There is also a table tennis table on the ground floor. Wifi is useable. although it depends where you're sitting as to whether you get a signal.

My wife and son had the cooked breakfast option, which was ok, but nothing special.

If you're a light sleeper, as my wife is, then it can get quite noisy at night, with banging fire doors. This didn't disturb me or my soon.

Keswick is a great little town for shopping and coffee shops, and we had a lovely pub meal at Oldfellows in the town.

There are great walking options near to the hostel.

Overall, we found this a pleasant place to stay, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_w01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and hostel. Sorry if you were disturbed with late arrivals and doors banging. If ever this problem arises again during a stay in a hostel then please contact staff who will do what they can to ask others to be quieter. Hope to see you on another visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My sister, niece and i have just had a 2 day stay in Keswick Cumbria we stayed at the YHA in central Keswick near the river
We had a warm welcome by the staff and they are very helpful . The rooms are basic but nice and warm and clear. The cafe is good value for money .
Thanks

Room Tip: Give the Hostels a try tou will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the hostel and friendly staff. We have lots of board games and some outdoor games for children and of course Keswick has lots of varied things to do for all ages. Fabulous location for children with the parks and new play area and pitch and putt. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staffs were approachable. My friends and I had a nice stay there. The table tennis at the ground floor was enjoyable, while the pool and the self catering kitchen at the first floor were so helpful! The location was just nice, near the town centre. If only that the self-catering kitchen is to be accessible starting at 5AM, it would be nicer since we all left before sunrise for our walk around Keswick.

Room Tip: Choose the bunk bed room for group travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdhyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the hostel and friendly staff. We are pleased you throughly enjoyed our facilites. The self catering kitchen has to be closed for health and safety reasons due to being placed in the centre of the hostel and it is opened as soon as staff come back on duty at 7am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the weekend in January. We booked two rooms, for the in-laws and myself, husband and 1 year old.
The rooms were fantastic and although we brought a cot there were cots offered. We also used the high-chairs and baby bath that was available. We booked two double rooms but ended up with one double and one with 5 beds/bunks in. We weren't too bothered about this but if you are expecting double beds I'd double check on booking.
The kitchen was well appointed and the lounge was great and looked after well. Good selection of board games, a pool table, TV and DVD's. I think there was also an option to use a Playstation.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Particularly the kitchen staff. The food was great and abundant in volume! The breakfast was great for £5. The kitchen staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and even asked us if we fancied anything not on the menu. I can imagine this doesn't happen in peak season though!
It is well located right near the centre of town.
We will definitely be staying again. It is very family friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments about the hostel and friendly and helpful staff. Our family rooms are very popular and this year we have rooms at bargin prices which makes it even better.
With the YHA policy book early for the best prices you need to check the yha website for our special offers. We hope you will make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
228 reviews
14.3 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Price Range: $25 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing