We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at nice hostel by the river”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Keswick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at nice hostel by the river”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family stayed in a family room at this hostel in April 2013. We stayed for 3 nights and I found all the staff helpful.

The self-catering kitchen, whilst basic, which does seem to be the way at YHAs, was perfectly adequate, and allowed us to cook plenty of meals. Eating space is quite limited as there are only 3 tables in the kitchen/dining room area on the first floor. There is a large restaurant on the ground floor but I think that is for paying customers. Nevertheless, the seating was adequate and we didn't have to wait for a table.

The hostel was very clean, and in a lovely location right next to the river.

My son particularly enjoyed the pool table and there is large and comfy TV lounge. There is also a table tennis table on the ground floor. Wifi is useable. although it depends where you're sitting as to whether you get a signal.

My wife and son had the cooked breakfast option, which was ok, but nothing special.

If you're a light sleeper, as my wife is, then it can get quite noisy at night, with banging fire doors. This didn't disturb me or my soon.

Keswick is a great little town for shopping and coffee shops, and we had a lovely pub meal at Oldfellows in the town.

There are great walking options near to the hostel.

Overall, we found this a pleasant place to stay, and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_w01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and hostel. Sorry if you were disturbed with late arrivals and doors banging. If ever this problem arises again during a stay in a hostel then please contact staff who will do what they can to ask others to be quieter. Hope to see you on another visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    75
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
21
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My sister, niece and i have just had a 2 day stay in Keswick Cumbria we stayed at the YHA in central Keswick near the river
We had a warm welcome by the staff and they are very helpful . The rooms are basic but nice and warm and clear. The cafe is good value for money .
Thanks

Room Tip: Give the Hostels a try tou will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the hostel and friendly staff. We have lots of board games and some outdoor games for children and of course Keswick has lots of varied things to do for all ages. Fabulous location for children with the parks and new play area and pitch and putt. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staffs were approachable. My friends and I had a nice stay there. The table tennis at the ground floor was enjoyable, while the pool and the self catering kitchen at the first floor were so helpful! The location was just nice, near the town centre. If only that the self-catering kitchen is to be accessible starting at 5AM, it would be nicer since we all left before sunrise for our walk around Keswick.

Room Tip: Choose the bunk bed room for group travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdhyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hostel and friendly staff. We are pleased you throughly enjoyed our facilites. The self catering kitchen has to be closed for health and safety reasons due to being placed in the centre of the hostel and it is opened as soon as staff come back on duty at 7am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the weekend in January. We booked two rooms, for the in-laws and myself, husband and 1 year old.
The rooms were fantastic and although we brought a cot there were cots offered. We also used the high-chairs and baby bath that was available. We booked two double rooms but ended up with one double and one with 5 beds/bunks in. We weren't too bothered about this but if you are expecting double beds I'd double check on booking.
The kitchen was well appointed and the lounge was great and looked after well. Good selection of board games, a pool table, TV and DVD's. I think there was also an option to use a Playstation.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Particularly the kitchen staff. The food was great and abundant in volume! The breakfast was great for £5. The kitchen staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and even asked us if we fancied anything not on the menu. I can imagine this doesn't happen in peak season though!
It is well located right near the centre of town.
We will definitely be staying again. It is very family friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hostel and friendly and helpful staff. Our family rooms are very popular and this year we have rooms at bargin prices which makes it even better.
With the YHA policy book early for the best prices you need to check the yha website for our special offers. We hope you will make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Loved it, esp. the price.

... for such location during Christmas time, it is very good value. We had a private room over-looking the river and mountains. Woke up with a great view and a full English Breakfast cooked to perfection.

Very clean room, bed and bathroom smells fresh! Very good facilities and friendly atmosphere. My Mum love the laundry & drying room esp. because of the wet weather. I found the lockers and bicycle shed very useful.

Ann (check-in staff) was very helpful to show us around. We also found out useful travel information during check-in. Seems that we have missed the special Christmas buffet this year, but there are plenty restaurants in town, so didn't really matter.

I will definitely book again.


Sophia Lo

Room Tip: For the best view, ask for room facing the river, but you may have to listen to the sound of water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoy providing, clean ,comfortable and friendly accommodation and are happy to show guests around.
We will be open for both Christmas and New Year 2013 so look forward to having you visit us again and hopefully this year you can enjoy a special meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

As it's often difficult to get just one night's accommodation in Keswick, the YHA offers a great option. It's a friendly, clean and well run YHA in a great location handy for the town centre. My wife and I were able to get a comfortable 3 bed room for the night at a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Fitz Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We aim to be friendly, clean and comfortable accommodation. You are right it can be difficult getting a 1 nights stay in Keswick, especially in the summer months. It is something we are keen to continue otherwise guests cannot enjoy completing the C2C or cumbria way as the links are to far apart. Hop[e to see you on a return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

As a regular user of yea hostel keswick hostel was a bit below par which was a shame. The hostel has a good central location by the river and overlooking the park. We stayed in a private room and a sunrise was a television a first for me in a hostel. We had a package which included food. The choice and quality was poor especially as the town offers plenty of alternatives. Keswick very good centre with bus and launch services . If you do go to the hostel eat out

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jheppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I am sorry you found the food under par. With the winter warmer offer of a room for 4 for £44.95 with food included it is a great price. The food is limited on this offer but if you return try our special offers or our standard menu and I am sure you will be impressed. We do have room only offers from £25 throughout the winter months. You could then choose meals from the alternative menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
7.7 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
14.0 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Property: YHA Keswick
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing