We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location as it is just off the Main Street in Keswick.”

Brun Lea Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brun Lea Guest House
Ranked #131 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic location as it is just off the Main Street in Keswick.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at this B and B loads of times. It is right by the Main Street in Keswick and is a brilliant location although it is not easy to park, we usually find somewhere. The breakfast is excellent but what I like about it are the bathrooms. They have ensuite rooms but I try to get bedroom one which has a wash hand basin but no ensuite, but is next to a great bathroom. For those of you who have to have an ensuite just hear me out. My husband is six four. A lot of the houses in the Lakes were not built as Guest Houses and some of the ensuites that have been put into rooms willy nilly, are tiny and my husband is too big for the showers and the rooms become cramped. The decor of the rooms is dated at Brun Lea but they are not oppressive and dirty. I am very fussy about decor as I was an Art Teacher and they are not my taste. The sheets are white and the beds comfy. You don't get a great deal of choice regarding the hospitality tray but then I don't want too much stuff as it counteracts the healthy effects of the walking. The owner of the B and B are a couple. You won't see much of him and she is circumspect. However that suits us as we don' t like effusive welcomes and talkative hosts. She is not as bad as ' I don't give a s... , just give us the money and clear off ! As I have experienced that sort of welcome but she doesn't say a great deal. This might not suit everyone. Burn Lea has not got a sitting room for the guests but we don't mind this either . So if you want a good value place to stay in Keswick go for Brun Lea. A day on the hills and then a super soak in a super size bath and then a short walk to a decent meal. Great

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NANCY_DAVIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Brun Lea guesthouse was recommended to us by my parents who have stayed here on a number of occasions. We too were not disappointed. The guesthouse is spotlessly clean, the rooms are too, with fresh linen provided daily. The landlady is very friendly and welcoming without being over-bearing. The breakfasts are delicious, plentiful in size and the host will cater for individual choice wherever possible. As if all this wasnt perfect enough the location of the guesthouse is also brilliant. A two minute walk away from the town centre and approximately 5-10mins from the Keswick side of Derwent Water. We were also very lucky on our visit as we enjoyed two days of warm sunshine, (a real rarity in the lake district.) All in all we had a wonderful 3 days in Keswick. We most certainly will be returning and would not hesitate to stay in Brun Lea guesthouse. I can not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Although there were only two of us we had a family room of four beds at the front of the guesthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After deciding to head to Keswick last minute, we found Brun Lea. The location is brilliant as it affords the closeness to the town centre but still within walking distance of some stunning scenery.

The hosts were warm and welcoming, giving us a choice of the last 2 remaining rooms. We chose room 6 which was at the front of the building overlooking the quaint little street. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding was plentiful. There was a small shower room which was more than enough for our needs, tv (good for catching the Wimbledon semi-final) tea and coffee facilities, a small wardrobe and lots of drawers.

Breakfast was really scrumptious, we had the full breakfast but there was cereal, fruit and yoghurt also available.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubilou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Although we only visited for one night we found the guest house very clean, the beadrooms nice with spotless linnen. Breakfast was excellent and the landlady was very frendly. The only down side was the very wet weather, floods everywhere, but that's our summer isn't it.
We will most certainly visit again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poundoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My wife and I have been visiting Keswick at least once a year for the past 20 years and almost exclusively choose Brun Lea.
In all that time the welcome is aways friendly, the standard of accommodation good, and the breakfast always tasty and plentiful.
There are a lot of B&Bs to choose from in Keswick and many in our view are over-priced but Brun Lea offers superb value for money with a genuine home from home feel.
We look forward to returning.

Ian and Linda Clarke.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildflower34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2011

i went to keswick with my grandson it was his first time away from home,so i was very nervious.but the friendliness of the owners put him totally at ease.i will be returning at least twice this year

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My partner and i took off to the lakes 24/8/10 to do some walking and decided to stay over. 20 year ago we stayed at this B & B, another spur of the moment decision and found it very nice. the landlady allowed us to park our motorbikes in the rear yard for safe keeping too. so, we asked if there were any rooms spare this time, we got the family en-suite room (8). the service was excellent, pleasant and friendly, room was clean and well presented. we both slept well and enjoyed our stay. the next day we went walking again and decided to stay over again, this time we got a 'Standard' room which was as equally as good as the en-suite room. the bathroom/toilets were modern and nicely tiled. we opted for the continental breakfasts, i'm vegitarian and my partner doesnt really eat much on a morning, everything was great, the dining room was a pleasant place to eat. whenever we go to the lakes from now on, this will be our first port of call if we decide to stay over again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessjess51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shemara Guest House
Shemara Guest House
#81 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#19 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#122 of 175 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluestones Guest House
Bluestones Guest House
#102 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#62 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brun Lea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brun Lea Guest House

Property: Brun Lea Guest House
Address: 3 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run business only 1 minute walk into Keswick town centre. Warm comfortable rooms and a superb full Englisg breakfast provided at a sensible price. Family, double and twin bedded rooms, mostly en suite. Pets allowed in some rooms by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing