We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hazeldene Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$156
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$267
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$206
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
129
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboot roomtable tennis tablehope parkb bcooked breakfast was lovelygames roomwet coatsexcellent locationoff road parkingspent three nightsshort walk from the town centreour night staylake districthot waterdefinitely stay here againfantastic viewswalking holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 135 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hazeldene on Friday 22nd and Saturday 23rd November 2013. The hotel itself is in a beautiful building with beautiful views, within 5 minutes of the centre of Keswick. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the en-suites newly decorated and again spotless. The Full English Breakfast was delicious, with all the tea and toast you could eat. The staff were friendly, helpful, welcoming and nothing was too much bother to them. All in all a very pleasant stay and would gladly go and stay there again on our next visit to Keswick.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2.. fabulous view, spacious, comfortable, my sister stayed in room 8 directly above...this rooms was a little smaller but had all the other good points. these rooms are worth the little extra for the views as you wake in the mornings.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Immaculately clean, it all looks like it's just been decorated. Friendly owner and a good breakfast.
Beds (room 5) are firm which suited me but my wife found too hard. There is no option for blankets, so if you hate duvets as much as me, ask for a top sheet and bring your own blanket.
This place is in a quiet location, yet just a couple of minutes walk from the town and good eating places. Try Morells.
Definitely a place I would go back to.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Keswick is abundant with small hotels and B&B’s vying for business, but here we have an establishment that that really knows how to deliver. The on-site owners ensure that the visitor is treated as an individual guest, from the warm welcome to the pleasant public areas and modern bedrooms. Before you go check-out the website for details of all the rooms (one at the front have great views).
It is easy to find and we managed to fit the car into the small adjacent private car park, where it remained as there is plenty to do in and around Keswick and the immediate area. Breakfast taken in the lake facing dining room is very pleasant and all hot food made to order with a good selection cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc. from a dresser.
As to be expected in a Victorian property there are stairs to the upper rooms. There is a small guest lounge cum reading room and adjacent games room, which is fine for views down to the local park.
This is our second visit and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Visit website first to see rooms, front ones have Lake view. Lower floor for those who find stairs dificult
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooper-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were in Northern England for a month and this was easily the best place we stayed (4 nights). It was spotless - passed the white stocking test! In other words I wandered around the room in white socks that remained white. The room was very comfortable, very well appointed and relatively spacious. There is also a car park which we were able to use each night. On top of all that the owners, Helen and Howard, were more than accommodating - suggesting restaurants, excursions, and even helping me to make an appointment for a haircut. And everything they suggested worked out perfectly.

The breakfasts were all freshly cooked and excellent.

All I can say is 'Wow'. This is definitely the place to stay in the Lake District..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stopped at this B & B with a group of walkers four years in a row. It is ideally located, near the centre of Keswick and not far from the Derwentwater ferry. The hosts are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is excellent: a full English (if desired) with dramatic views of the mountains and ever-changing Cumbrian skyscape through the windows. Its spotless cleanliness adds to the overall welcoming atmosphere. Prices very reasonable. Hard to beat.

Room Tip: If you're thinking of lingering in your room, views from the south side are better, though slightly more expensive.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews