We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay ever in Keswick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazeldene Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hazeldene Hotel
Ranked #76 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay ever in Keswick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent three nights in this beautifully clean and well equipped hotel. Owners very friendly and food was excellent. Although we booked at the last minute and the only rooms available were at the back of the building we had a wonderful view of Skiddaw. Worth waking up to! Would definitely recommend a stay here and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I had never been to the Lake District and decided very last minute to visit for a week. We had no idea of where to stay or what area would be best. On finding Hazeldene on line we were a little apprehensive on arrival. After a very long drive we were not disappointed. We were able to park our car without any stress, and the minute we walked into the hallway, the first thing we noticed was the cleanliness of the hotel. Our room had stunning views and being able to wake up and see the mountains before even getting out of bed was amazing. The shower was excellent with a constant flow of hot water, and breakfast offered so many choices. Being a couple who spend a lot of time travelling it was an absolute treat to find the bus station, lake, and town centre, all in such a short distance enabling us to stay out of the car for most of our stay. Helen and Howard were a great couple and nothing too much trouble. This stay provided us with everything we needed for a 'perfect week' to relax and we shall no doubt recommend to others and return ourselves.

Room Tip: Room 7 second floor, stunning views, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a lovely clean, friendly hotel. Breakfast is superb - cooked to perfection and with using good quality ingredients. We normally have a break in the Lakes every year and shall definitely stay here again. Less than a 5 minute walk to the centre of Keswick with lots of places to eat. Thank you to Howard and Helen for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tymoshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just had a few days get away in Keswick. Hazeldene is an immaculate B&B. The owners are welcoming and very friendly. The parking and Wifi included in the room price is great. We would thoroughly recommend Hazeldene to anyone looking to stay in Keswick.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a view (at the front), its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_and_Ulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Once again another warm welcome from owners Howard and Helen to their beautiful hotel...which is set in the most stunning location.

The Hazledene is immaculately clean and bright with gorgeous fluffy white towels and pure white bedding...tea coffee and biscuits are replenished each day and breakfasts are first class with a choice to suit everyone

All area's of Keswick are reachable within easy walking distance from the front door of the Hotel.
If you are in need of any information about the Lakes ask Howard...as he is a mine of information

Thanks again Howard and Helen for another excellent week...we will be back next year xx

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate...views from the North facing rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent four nights there in July and found it as good as ever. The room was lovely with plenty of space. Several hotels/guest houses we have stayed in have cramped conditions as rooms have been reduced in size to accommodate ensuite facilities. At Hazeldene this has not been true of any of the rooms we have stayed in. For us this is important part of our strong recommendation. Everywhere is clean and bright, views are marvellous, service is exemplary and breakfasts are great. Wi-Fi reception was strong and reliable.

Room Tip: The usual swings and roundabouts. Overall, all the rooms we have occupied have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I 've recently returned from a short (4 night) stay at the Hazeldene, and I'm happy to report that it is a first class venue. It is clean and tidy and the owners are very welcoming and polite. Breakfast was first class, and cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. The view from the room was spectacular, overlooking the pitch and Putt and stretching away over Cat Bells and the Hills.
One small concern was that having booked twin rooms, it appeared on first sight that we'd been allocated a double, however the beds did seperate, which we did ourselves (Sharing with a mate, not wife!), the beds were however quite narrow, but this did not cause any problems with sleeping, especially after having walked 20 miles in the hills. I would highly recommend the Hazeldene, and will definately return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#16 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#34 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#60 of 176 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Property: Hazeldene Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hazeldene, a 4 star Guest House offering quality B&B guest accommodation in a superb location in the heart of the Lake District National Park. Hazeldene is conveniently situated for Keswick town centre, Lake Derwentwater, Theatre by the Lake, Stagecoach bus services & bus station and the starting points of a variety of popular Lakeland walks and cycle routes including the Altura Trails in Whinlatter Forest.Hazeldene has wonderful panoramic views of the surrounding fells, Walla Crag, Castle Crag, Glaramara, Catbells, Robinson, Causey Pike, Grizedale Pike, Skiddaw, Latrigg, Blencathra & Helvellyn. See for yourself on our webcams. Hazeldene also has its own car park with off street parking, drying room and cycle storage. View the weather on our live web cam. Free wi-fi access is available in the public areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing