We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place. (but don't go.... I can never get in!)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout Keswick
Ranked #50 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Amazing place. (but don't go.... I can never get in!)”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this yr for the second time once I could finally get a booking that was available. Liz & Dave are lovely, keep the place spotless and cook up a lovely breakfast. The beds are very comfy and the bathrooms perfect - its more like a 3 roomed hotel than a B&b.

love the lakes and would stay here every time without question if only I could get in ;-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
207
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and can not fault in any way. The room was lovely, the bathroom big with a huge shower. Everything was high quality.
The breakfast was delicious and the owner friendly and helpful.
Location is a pleasant stroll into the centre of Keswick. You are much better off leaving car at the B&B and walking in as parking can be a pain. Unfortunately the weather was not good so we did try and park a few times, this was a challenge.
We would highly recommend The Lookout, you won't find anything nicer for the money.
It was actually a year ago we stayed here, and feel bad we forgot to put a review on at the time. It wasn't until recently staying a other places that were no where near as nice and doing there reviews that we realised we had forgotten to do one. We were chatting about the nicest place we had stayed and then realised we never did the review. How at the time we forgot, I don't know, especially with it being our all time favourite so far.
.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar01Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this great BnB. It was a surprise for us as we had booked it as a standard more modern option, not so olde world or cutesy as some others we had stayed at. But in fact it had fabulous large rooms of a very high standard with top notch fittings, the best shower of our trip and a wonderful large comfortable bed. Easy to find with great parking and a short walk to the stone circle and other walks. Breakfast was seated at a table with a stupendous mountain views eating a generous and delicious breakfast.Owners were extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. Would return in a heartbeat. Keswick is less 'prettified' than Windermere for example but has great access to much quieter walking and just as fabulous scenery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaPhillipa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is one of Keswick's little gems. The Lookout has the most awesome views of Keswick's landscape, then rooms are luxurious and modern. Liz and Dave are amazing nothing is too much trouble for them, they make you feel very welcome and provide an excellent breakfast.

Both Dave and Liz were also happy to give us lots of advice on walking routes and must see sites. This guesthouse is a must if you are looking to stay in Keswick.

We will be re-booking The Lookout very soon!

Myself and partner would have gladly stayed another week!

Room Tip: Room 3 is a must for the views!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just perfect! We stayed here for our 'mini-moon' and were beyond thrilled when we arrived. From the beautiful entrance way, the wooden floors, map-covered walls, stunning decor, fabulous room, to the warm, friendly welcome from Liz and Dave who were always friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The Lookout is immaculate! The bathroom was amazing, spotless and smelt like a spa! Brilliant! The bed was genuinely comfortable and plenty big enough. Breakfast is amazing! So much choice and served with a smile and a natter about walking. Can't gush enough about the place - but none of you should go, as then we'll never get a room booked again!
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Can only comment on ours (room 3) - great view, private balcony. Super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

we stayed at The Lookout in March 2012 (a bit late writing this review!) and the place guest house was excellent. The owners were friendly and gave us lots of advice on where to go and explore, the breakfast was delicious, the room was spotless and decorated to a high spec and the bed was very comfy! We stayed in the room closest to the road which didnt bother us at all but we could hear the cars in the day time as you would expect so I would recommend a room at the back for total peace. we also thought the rooms were amazing value - we looked at a lot of places to stay and this was very well priced expecially for the high standard of the rooms. We had a car as it is a bit of a walk to Keswick but I am sure you could do it if you wanted to. We also ate in the Thai in Keswick (Star of Siam) which was totally delicious and a near by pub called The Pheasant which was even better and some of the best gastro pub style food we have ever had - would recommend both.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandtzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A little late with this review as my wife and I stayed for four nights early June to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. So glad we made The Lookout our choice. After a warm welcome from Liz we were shown to room 3 which was perfect, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean with a large comfy bed, plenty of wardrobe/storage space, a large LCD TV, tea and coffee making facilities and even a small fridge with fresh milk. The en-suite bathroom was also tastefully decorated to the same high standards with a large shower cubicle and superb power shower - ideal after long day's out walking. But the icing on the cake about the room has to be the view, there is a large sliding French window which opens on to a balcony overlooking a beautifully maintained garden with a pond and beyond this the surrounding fells over Keswick and Derwentwater are spread before you like a picture postcard. There is also a table and two chairs on the balcony and even a large parasol is provided for use but alas this wasn't required as the weather took a turn for the worse on day 2 so we were unable to make the most of it. Across the hallway from our room was the breakfast room whose window and balcony shared the same spectacular views as ours. The breakfasts were delicious, plentyful and cooked to perfection and really set you up for the day. Also in the breakfast room there is a sitting area by a bookcase filled with information about the area and maps and walking guides which can be borrowed to take out for the day. We were also fascinated by the picture diary charting Liz and Dave's transformation of the Lookout from the first day they took over the place. You really have to admire their vision, determination and endeavour in transforming this wonderful B&B to what it is today, we have been regular visitors to the Lake District for over fifteen years staying in large hotels and tiny guesthouses and have to say this has to be the best by far, we will definitely return. Thanks Liz and Dave for a memorable stay - oh and the champagne glasses and chocolate hearts put in our room on our anniversary was a lovely touch!

Gary & Linda

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 have the best views overlooking the gardens and fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazzo2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#35 of 173 in Keswick
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 173 in Keswick
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 173 in Keswick
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#15 of 173 in Keswick
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#20 of 173 in Keswick
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Keswick

Property: The Lookout Keswick
Address: Lookout Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish B and B with contemporary and very stylish ensuite rooms. Fabulous panoramic mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Keswick Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing