We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of Ten”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout Keswick
Ranked #50 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ten out of Ten”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Lookout is perfect, loved the contemporary decor that has been used, such a nice change. Our room was very comfortable, great bathroom and we appreciated the little silent fridge. Breakfast was very enjoyable we loved sitting there looking at that view! WOW.
The sitting area for guests is a great idea and we enjoyed taking our wine down or a drink in the evening.

But the best thing about this B&B would have to be Liz and Dave, such delightful people, they really know their stuff. Made us very welcome and we enjoyed talking to them so much. They have done an amazing job of renovating the old 1920's house, make sure you look at the photo's. Thanks so much for a very happy stay in your wonderful home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maudie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
205
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester le Street
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Lookout came highly recommended and we weren't disappointed. The property has been refurbished by Liz and Dave to a very high standard and the hospitality was second to none. We stayed in room 1 where the view over the fells is magnificent, and the bathroom is a bonus. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice from locally sourced products. We will definitely be staying again soon.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view and a fabulous bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerylA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh,essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was our first visit to The Lookout but it certainly won't be our last! We were travelling with friends from Australia who were amazed by the quality of the accommodation, food and hospitality of our hosts. We stayed in room 1 which was probably the best room we have stayed in anywhere on our extensive travels, with stunning views of the beautiful garden and the hills beyond. Our friends had room 3 which was just as impressive.

Room Tip: Room 1 was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laburnumandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Liz and Dave have gutted and rebuilt the B & B using lots of local slate and elm. They have chosen everything very well with top quality beds and shower room. We had a balcony with a fantastic view of the fells (Room 3). They even got me some gluten free bread and sausages for breakfast (lots of other Coeliac highlights in Keswick eg tearooms in George Fisher).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottersNovaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed for three nights over the Royal Wedding/Bank Holiday weekend and have no hesitation in recommending the Lookout. Our room (room 3) was very clean, with a very large, modern bathroom and a balcony with stunning views towards Cat Bells and Causey Pike. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Liz and Dave were very pleasant without ever being intrusive. We thought the Lookout might be further out of Keswick than we really wanted, but, in actual fact, we were pleasantly surprised at how quickly we could get into the town by walking along the old railway track. We would definitely be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Had a great time at The Lookout! Dave and Liz run a lovely guest house, and are very helpful with walks/hikes and other suggestions. Really enjoyed our stay--everything was clean and cheerful, the food was great, and the views truly are magnificent!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatherBeTraveling25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I picked this B & B for the amazing modern design throughout featured on their website and when we arrived it was just as described. Dave & Liz the owners completely refurbished the place a couple of years ago and it is lovely.

We stayed in room 2 for 4 nights over Easter and had a great stay. The room was very nice with it's own balcony & view of Latrigg fell, a great power shower & modern bathroom with mod cons like LCD TV & hairdryer.

We caught taxis into town which were a bargain compared to Bournemouth! £3 into town, £4 on the bank hol mon. However it's a pleasant walk along the old railway path to stagger home after a meal out.

The breakfasts were delicious with loads of choice. A cooked breakfast really set us up for a day on the fells.

Dave recommended walks to us (thanks) we loved the walk up Great Gable! (Rich not so keen)!

I can't wait to visit again soon.

Les & Rich

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Les37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 175 in Keswick
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#29 of 175 in Keswick
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#78 of 175 in Keswick
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Keswick

Property: The Lookout Keswick
Address: Lookout Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish B and B with contemporary and very stylish ensuite rooms. Fabulous panoramic mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Keswick Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing