We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure of a b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout Keswick
Ranked #50 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A treasure of a b&b”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Lookout. Had a warm reception from the owner Liz who also gave good advice about the local attractions and walks. The dining room also has plenty of guides and leaflets of the local area.
A good and varied choice of breakfasts to satisfy all tastes!
The room was spacious and very clean and neat, with stunning views of the Lake district, also a beautifully finished bathroom consisting of a large bath and a seperate power shower. So on any gloomy days it is a pleasant room to stay in and simply relax. Keswick town is only a 15 minute walk with plenty to see and do, with many restaurants and pubs to enjoy. Would recommend to anybody, absolutely lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mads27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
205
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We arrived on the Friday morning for the weekend and we were impressed straight away. The view from the breakfast room was fabulous and the rooms were modern and spacious. We had room 2 and had our own little balcony- the shower was amazing! Power shower and it felt like you were literally vibrating with the power of the spray, great! The breakfast was served from 8.30-9.30 which is a little early for me when you've been into the town the night before!- but definitely worth getting up for! Coffee was fab!
We had our own mini fridge in the room (which helped when we bought cheese and jam from the market stalls) and there was a good selection of tea and coffee in our room too.
Liz was absolutely lovely and very welcoming (we didn't really meet her partner)- we intend on going back and would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

In a word you will not find a better place. We were here for three nghts in room 1, amazing. There is a view to die for that is like an ever changing old master painting!! This was our first time in the Lakes and wow are we now hooked. On arrival we were met by Liz and shown our room , and what a room, just read all reviews and you will get the picture. There are little touches that all make for a brilliant stay apart form the spotless rooms, kettle tea coffee milk in a fridge , and always topped up ready for when you get back, just little things. And then there is the bathroom!! Thanks to Liz & Dave I may now have a major referb of my own . As we came for the walking we can also say this is a very good base and within easy reach of some ace walks and that bath is sooooooo good after you get back with aching muscles!
All We can say is dont think about it if its free book it cause i can guarentee we will be back as soon as we can make it. This is the first review I have ever made but just had too as it is so deserved, thanks Liz & Dave for a very very nice weekend that we so needed.All the best xx Jacky n Dave

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

To be honest, the short review from me would be "just book it and you'll see how great it is for yourself' - I've stayed in the Lakes, and around the Keswick area, countless times over the years. The Lookout is quite simply the best, cleanest, and most friendly B&B I've experienced there, and that really is saying something.

Over and above the cleanliness, the friendly and relaxed atmosphere - and the simply delicious breakfast - the views are to die for. As soon as you walk through the door you're greeted by a huge picture window at the end of the hallway, hosting surely one of the best views from any accomodation, anywhere in the UK.

The furnishings are modern and clean, the bedroom we stayed in (Room One) was a perfect size and the bathroom was a joy to use - a proper power shower, a huge and comfortable bath, and plenty of space in the room itself.

Liz and Dave were both extremely friendly hosts and clearly work hard to ensure every guest has the best possible experience at The Lookout. They know the area well and are happy to advise on great places to go for those new to the area.

Another thing I'd say is that, although the website is very impressive and the photos of both The Lookout itself and the views from it look fantastic, they still don't do justice to the reality of the accomodation. It really is that good!

All in all, this is an experience you really must try for yourself. I promise, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikerichardson1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and it was great, Liz (who I called Sue for the first day , sorry Liz) was really welcoming and helpful with suggestions for things to do in view of the poor weather.
The room was lovely, clean, very modern , warm and comfortable.The breakfasts were very very nice.
A lovely house , lovely couple , we will have to go back in the summer when the weather hopefully will be better.
Thanks

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Lookout is amazing, from the immaculately presented modern rooms, the beautiful mountain views, the massive luxurious en suite bathroom to probably the best full English I have tasted, we could not find fault. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asutton709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here with 2 friends over New Year and were extremely happy with the accommodation.The whole place is very tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. The owners, Dave and Liz, are a delightful couple and we felt very much at home. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and always grilled and there were cereals, fresh fruit salad and yogurts as well.
After a hard day`s walking it was good to relax in the sitting/breakfast room with its plentiful supply of books and maps and excellent views and the hosts were kind enough to supply glasses so that we could enjoy a glass of champagne on New Year`s Eve.
One very small issue is that it would have been nice to have shampoo and shower gel in the lovely bathroom but that in no way spoilt our enjoyment.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 175 in Keswick
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#29 of 175 in Keswick
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#78 of 175 in Keswick
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Keswick

Property: The Lookout Keswick
Address: Lookout Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish B and B with contemporary and very stylish ensuite rooms. Fabulous panoramic mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Keswick Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing