We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grassmoor Guest House
Ranked #30 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Grassmoor is an excellent B & B - my room ( number 4) had a fantastic view and was spotlessly clean. I stayed 4 nights and my room was "refreshed" daily - clean towels, fresh milk, tea coffee etc and bathroom cleaned.The breakfast were amazing with a really good choice. Gillian was warm, welcoming and friendly. The town is within easy walking distance but the street was very quiet at night. I would definitely stay again and recommend this to others. Even the weather was perfect !

Room Tip: Room 4 - on the top floor has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
110
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a lovely place. We received a very friendly welcome when we arrived. Gillian and Phil were perfect hosts, addressing us by our first names all the time which we like very much. Our room was very comfortable (Room 4) with a great view over Skiddaw, which was a nice bonus. The breakfast selection is second to none, with light and larger options available, and including locally sourced produce.

Tarriff is very reasonable and location (2 minutes' walk from town centre) is excellent. There is also plenty of advice available for walks and other activities in the area.

We will certainly be staying again, and we are planning to bring my parents from Brazil with us, as we're sure they'll be as well treated as we were.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I have stayed at many B&B's in Keswick but Grassmoor Guest House is by far and away the best I have stayed at. I had a recent three night stay with my sister in a twin/family room(room 2) which was very spacious, very clean and beautifully furnished, with superb views of Skiddaw. Gillian was a very welcoming host, with excellent knowledge and advice about surrounding area. Grassmoor is on a very quiet and peaceful street but is only a two minute walk from centre of Keswick. Last, but not least, the breakfasts are delicious! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaimie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Once again they pulled it out of the hat. Wonderful clean, well presented accommodation, warm and friendly hospitality, fantastic breakfast choice and close to Keswick Town (3 mins approx).
My daughter loves the three legged cat, Daisy and the views from our room were breathtaking.
Thank you Gill and Phil, you really are first class and we will definately recommend you to all our friends! We can't wait to arrange our next visit!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I'm not sure that there's much more I can add to the already excellent reviews, but to say that the Grassmoor really lived up to all our expectations and is well deserving of the praise.

The breakfasts are the best I've ever had - pancakes, bacon and maple syrup being a firm favourite with my partner and I.

We booked the small double room on the top floor which was perfect for us for the week. It had everything we needed; hair dryer, fridge, kettle, supply of decaf and normal coffee, tea and biscuits as well as a great selection of books.

Gillian was really welcoming and gave us some top tips on walks in the area.

An excellently priced B&B and very peaceful - I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

It's very welcoming accommodation with sweet service in Keswick. The price is affordable and the overall staying experience is undoubtedly worthy of it. In addition, the homemade breakfast is tasty. I wish I could stay in this lovely, warm and cozy place for a long stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hui-Chi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Excellent b&b. Gillian and Phil are great hosts and their knowledge of the area is fantastic. They gave us lots of ideas for trips out. Good choice of breakfast menu and Daisy the friendly 3 legged cat was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiSteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#5 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#14 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#101 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Herdwick Guest House
Herdwick Guest House
#78 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#28 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmoor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmoor Guest House

Property: Grassmoor Guest House
Address: 10 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Grassmoor we promote a relaxed, comfortable and friendly atmosphere hoping you, your group or family will feel at home here. We are ideally located for visiting Keswick town and exploring the surrounding area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing