We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bella

Casa Bella
Ranked #14 of 126 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had to wait a little while in the bar, as we had not booked. The waitress explained we could have a table straight away but the sun was a little bright on it and we opted to wait and ordered a very acceptable bottle of Frascati. Once in the restaurant, the service was friendly and efficient and our food was delicious. Couldn't fault a thing on this occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch0ccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    449
    144
    43
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shocked”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Went for a meal at 9:33 on a sunny Friday night. While busy the place had some free tables.

The disinterested door staff told my wife and I at 9:33 that last orders for meals are at 9:30.

Absolutely amazed I asked if it was good that the owner will miss out on serving two people a meal with wine. I was just told we close at 9:30 I should have come earlier.

Really !

Helpful?
4 Thank catbarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful front of house”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had booked a table for a Saturday evening but when we arrived we were placed in a queue with people who had walked in on spec. When we queried this the front of house was rude and aggressive beyond what I can convey in decent language. Luckily the eatery across the road could fit us in. Do not trust that any booking here is worth anything. We will never return to this place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An odd approach to customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have to say the food I had at Casa Bella was delicious - once I had disregarded the many dishes marked as 'vegetarian' despite containing either Parmesan or Gorgonzola (both of which are always made with animal rennet and are therefore never vegetarian). And I must admit that the service I received was actually really friendly and polite. However I have never dined in a restaurant with such an inflexible approach. I visited by myself, chose a pasta dish and then looked at the menu to see if there was some bread I could order to have on the side. I couldn't eat a full garlic pizza bread, so when I saw there were garlic dough balls on the menu, I thought that would be fine. However this was marked up as a side order for two people, and my waitress told me I would receive 10-12 dough balls. This still being too much, I asked if I could order half a portion for half price, and the answer was no. Baffled by this, I got someone else to ask the manager why it could not be done - "we don't have a button to put it through the till" was the response. I therefore didn't order anything else. This is probably the first business I've known that is so unwilling to take payment from a customer in return for a product they have readily available - all because there's no 'miscellaneous food' button on the till. Bizarre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank loradora80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian eating triumph”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Always dine at Casa Bella when in Keswick. Straightforward menu of pizza or pasta mainly but all freshly prepared. Friendly and obliging staff with prompt and attentive service. Only minor draw back is at busy times tend to feel a bit hemmed in but probably worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Bella also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Casa Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing