We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely base for a Lake District walking holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TonyEvs19
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Let down by cleanliness”
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Positives :- Great Location,walks straight from the door, perfect for a couple, quiet location
Clean bedding
Negatives :- Cleanliness,we had to clean the oven & racks which were covered in burnt food remains, same inside the microwave, kettle & toaster etc all covered in dirty fingerprints, we also had to wash the dishes and cutlery as they were not washed properly.
Shower cubicle had some mould on the tiles and we had to clean the drain cover before use because someones black hair was blocking it
Wi-Fi, for a property of this type we were amazed to have to purchase wi-fi through BT fon,a really annoying system which meant you had intermittent wifi and had to log in on every visit, when you pay £400 plus for a property it seems a bit mean not to include wi-fi

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose H
2 reviews
“Lovely base for a Lake District walking holiday”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a lovely little cottage, with a nice patch of outside space and views of Causey Pike (when it's not cloudy!). Ideally located for conquering some Wainwrights - we did Causey Pike and the Newlands Horseshoe, both from the front door - so pleasant not to have to use the car!
The cottage was neat and cosy, and well equipped for cooking - vital for a good holiday in our opinion! Perfect for a couple to retreat from the world for a while.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Clairgarth. We are delighted you enjoyed your "retreat from the world" at this lovely little cottage and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john w
rochdale
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Still cold”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My wife and I stayed in this cottage exactly a year ago, and after the first night popped into the office in Keswick and mentioned to the staff about how cold it is in the cottage, this year my mother booked us a weekend away in the lakes as a pressie, when we found out it was where we stayed last year we were really pleased because this is probably one of the best positioned cottages we have ever stayed in, you can walk everyday from the front door, and walks for all levels, the pub up the road as always was fantastic for food and ale, this cottage is finished to a very high standard and we found the cleanliness ok, however the heat problem is still there, there is daylight all the way down one side of the rear door, and the front door is much the same which is creating a draft right through the downstairs, the remedy for this from whoever seems to have been to remove all the feed back in the visitor book that mentioned the problem ( i remember seeing 4 and adding mine) and placing a small radiator which is uselessand the fitted fire merely warms a small area of carpet.I would love to stay here again but in warmer times and would always recommend the place,I just feel this needs attention, one carpenter and a couple of hours should do it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Clairgarth. We are delighted to hear that this was your second holiday here and is probably one of the best positioned cottages you have ever stayed in. We are disappointed to hear you had an issue with the heating and we have mentioned this to the owner who have assured us they will look in to the situation. It is great to hear you would always recommend Clairgarth to others and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkers14...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely location but disappointed by cleanliness”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Got off to a bad start - had to locate travel cot ourselves hidden away in the bathroom despite paying extra for it. We just manged to catch the office in time to ask about it, but poor phone reception, a lively 1 year old and a tiring 7 hour journey made it a stressful arrival. The general cleanliness was poor. There was a clump of hair hanging off the wardrobe, stains on the kitchen units, hair in the shower drain, dust mounting in the corners of bathroom, lampshades and on skirting boards. We got in touch with Lakes Cottage Holidays, and the cottage was eventually cleaned on Monday (not sure why this was not done before our arrival). First impressions left us with a grotty feel, which was a shame as the location was beautiful and the cottage had potential to be a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not being cleaned
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Clairgarth. We are disappointed to read that you experienced problems during your stay and the cleaner had to return. We do hope that this did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again to a different cottage in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swood016
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice cottage but has issues that need addressing”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage itself is nice, lovely location and well equipped. I didn't realise that it was actually listed on TA before I booked it so read the reviews after. A common theme was the cleanliness of the cottage. I was not concerned as I thought it had been brought up more than once, surely this issue has been rectified... It has not. The cottage is in need of a serious spring clean. I think the cleaning company make the bed, and do a cursory wipe of the horizontal surfaces and that is about it. I took some photos of the dirt I noticed on the first day so you can make your own mind up whether you want to stay here or not. I did not call the cottage company about it as I didn't want the awkward situation of the cleaner coming back and cleaning while we were there to be honest. Paying customers also shouldn't have to do that on the first day of their holiday. It's frustrating really as it is one of the easiest things to get right when renting a cottage and every other cottage I have stayed In, (all booked through Lakeland Cottage Company) have been immaculate. Other than that, it's a nice cottage... a few little improvements and it could be much better.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Clairgarth. We are sorry to hear that the cottage did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. The cleaning was arranged by the owner and not Lakes Cottage Holidays and we have made them aware of your comments. As you are aware, we do ask as part of the terms and conditions of your booking that you make us aware of any issues during your stay so that we have an opportunity to address them. As a company we pride ourselves on our customer service and we do hope that these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasasm...
1 review
“Excellent little cottage perfect for a short break for a couple.”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Clairgarth is a brilliant little 1 bed cottage with plenty of charm and a tasteful decor. Everything you need for a break away to the country side - very comfy bed and great bathtub. No wifi, although exactly missed. Stunning surroundings, secluded yet a short drive / very brisk walk to Keswick. Loads of great walks nearby, especially catbells. Would thoroughly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
Thank you for your feedback following your review of your stay at Clairgarth.

Thank you for recommending Clairgarth to others!

We are delighted you enjoyed the interior decoration of the cottage, found it to be well equipped for your stay and benefited from the cottage's location.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hope to welcome you back to Clairgarth in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Clairgarth, Stair.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay at the property, particularily the location of the cottage and took advantage of the surrounding walks and views. We are also pleased you found the bed, bath and shower faultless.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Clairgarth very soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing