We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very pleased”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
katiewarr...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central location & comfy beds”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Good central location, with buzzer door entry system which wasn't working when we stopped and with only one key was a real pain if we went out separately. The beds were very comfortable, even the singles which is often not the case, however the twin room had no wardrobe or hanging space, there was a cupboard in the hall but this was being used for storage. We stopped with an elderly relative who found the "couple of steps" to the apartment was actually four with no rail and they struggled on them. The Management Company ask you to strip the beds before you leave and empty the rubbish bin, the bins being stored away from the building and didn't appear to be labeled for recycling. The car space is located across the road behind the buildings on the opposite side of the road, just a short walk away. The kitchen appeared to be well equipped but some areas of the apartment could have been cleaned a little better, especially the shower.
NB this property only provides bed linen NOT towels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: The shower panel was dirty, skirting boards and some surfaces dusty
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Amba. We are sorry to hear that you were struggling with only one key, we do always offer more than one key on collection and would have been happy to provide you with an additional key at any time during your stay. Amba is a very popular holiday let property and we do ask guests to strip the beds and take out the rubbish as this just makes the turnaround quicker for the housekeeper. However, we do understand that this may be difficult for some guests and of course it is not a problem if guests find this difficult to do. Regarding the cleanliness of the property, had you made us aware that you were a little disappointed with the overall cleanliness of the property we would have addressed this issue immediately. We hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I stayed recently with my wife and young son and was more that pleased with our stay.

The accommodation was perfectly located, was warm and clean and fabulously furnished. There was no noise from the surroundings and the parking was a welcome relief.

Someone had managed to unconnect all of the cables for the television prior to our arrival, so we had to spend 10 minutes reconnecting and retuning and the showers lacked the usual pressure that you would expect but I'm nit-picking. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Amba, Keswick. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were very happy with the apartment and its location. It is great to hear that you would stay there again in a heartbeat and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidBarras
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
737 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Excellent flat in convenient location”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The flat is very convenient for everything in Keswick. All the shops and the lake are easy to walk to.
It is very close to the agent where the keys are collected and this was easy. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Parking is close to the Royal Oak . The parking is reserved and we had no problems with this although space is a premium here and out VW T5 was quite a big vehicle to squeeze in.

The Royal Oak public areas are pleasant clean and well maintained. The lift is to be avoided except when absolutely necessary. It worked OK but there was no light and it is very small so all in all a bit scary.

The flat itself is spacious. It was clean on arrival. The flat has everything you need. The kitchen is well equipped and we appreciated the small touches like 6 dishwasher tabs left for us. It was lovely to use the Denby tableware. There were plenty of dishes and pans.

The lounge is very comfortable. Wev particularly appreciated all tyhe lovely books about the Lake District. W had good weather so didnt get round to watching any of the DVD's that are on the shelves.

The beds are comfortable. Bedding fresh and clean and bed made up on arrival.. The en suite is small but everything worked.

We had a small dog with us and it was suitable for him. There is even a dog bowl in the cupboard!

We have rented a lot of holiday accomodation over the years. This rental was no fuss. No deposits or extras charged for electricity or anything else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Quality stuff in the kitchen.
Liked least: The tumble dryer was broken
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Amba, Royal Oak House. We are delighted you enjoyed the property and its location. As a company we do pride ourselves on excellent Customer Service and we are so pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempston Bedfordshire
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review

We are glad that you had a lovely time in Keswick and that you were very happy with the accommodation provided.

We are aware that you had a problem with the lift on your day of arrival, a member of staff did attend the property with you and show you how the lift worked, we were not aware that you had further issues during your stay, had this information been forthcoming we would have been able to have the issue rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedford
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Amba, Keswick.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at Amba with its location within Keswick and found the property was well-equipped for your needs.

We hope to welcome you back to Amba or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of Amba.

We are pleased to read you had found this property well-equipped for your needs and enjoyed the property's location.

Thank you for recommending this property to your friends and we hope to welcome you back to Amba or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property very soon.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grangetown
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Amba, Keswick.

We are delighted you had such a lovely stay at the property and took real advantage of the location of Amba and found the property well equipped for your needs.

We hope to welcome you back to Amba or another of Lakes Cottage Holidays properties in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing