We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
655
25
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
655
25
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade waffles toffee sauce full english lake district places to visit castlerigg stone circle warm welcome home from home vegetarian sausages walk into town local knowledge room was spotless visiting the lakes a lovely stay high standard smoked salmon the perfect host
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 682 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've stayied at this great b&b a number of times over the last couple of months due to doing some landscaping work just outside keswick,
We arrived to a very warm and friendly welcome from Sharon,
I think i stayed in all the rooms now and each one has been excellent, they are spotless, and faultless,
Due to having to be on site at 8am we asked Sharon if we could have breakfast earlier than normal guests,, this was no trouble at all, every morning there was a excellent full English made for us,
I couldn't recommended the burnside and Sharon high enough, 5 stars from me and a big thanks for taking care of us

Carl
The landscape contractor

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at Burnside and I felt I had to write a little review just to say how lovely the B&B is! We stayed in room 4 which is at the top of the house so there are a few stairs but the room was spotless, beautifully furnished and everything was very high quality. The little touches like facewipes and cotton pads in the bathroom, plenty of tea and coffee in the room ( why do some places only give you 2 teabags?! ) and the lovely warm welcome and excellent breakfast really set this place apart. Sharon was very friendly and made us feel at home and hearing how she made the vegetarian sausages for the couple sat next to us has made me consider having a vegetarian brekkie next time we visit! It's about a 20 minute walk along the main road into keswick, or if you go along the old railway track route then maybe 15, but if the weathers bad it's only £3 for a taxi into the town.

Overall a lovely short break and we'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galaxyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights for a late booked mini-honeymoon. We couldn't have been happier. The B&B is beautifully decorated; fresh and modern, yet traditional at the same time, reflecting the age of the building. Room four has a lovely king size bed which was very comfortable, made better by a cute Teddy Bear to greet us! The breakfast was superb, with plenty of choice besides the usual Full English (which was beaut!), including waffles and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon! Sharon made us feel very welcome and was extremely helpful, with plenty of advice about the local area. She provided us with some maps for some lovely scenic drives in the area. As an added bonus Sharon and her husband had left us a card and a box of chocolates in our room as we arrived, congratulating us on our marriage. This was very kind indeed! Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a wonderful five days at Burnside we were made very welcome ,very comfortable bedroom,loved teddy,Sharon gave us a first class breakfast helped us through the day.we would love to stay again, lots to do locally
Keswick is a beautiful town.

Room tip: Room 4was lovely
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Burnside, Sharon was the perfect host and our room was tastefully decorated and spotless. The breakfasts were first class, there was nothing we could fault, highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews