We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B and B”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside B&B
Ranked #5 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and have to say the experience was 1st class from the moment we arrived. The location is perfect and is a nice easy walk into town centre via the old railway line . We were welcomed by Sharon who we have to say was extremely pleasant, helpful and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area including places to go and places to eat. Sharon also provided us with maps and routes of places of interest.The accommodation was really clean (spotless ) and the room was excellent and the bed was very comfy. The cooked breakfast provided was really nice and Sharon was a perfect host. We will be staying here again next time we visit the lakes. We highly recommend this B and B to all. Many thanks, Mark and Lynn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
466
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was truly a home from home the whole place is spotlessly clean and the food was excellent the owners Sharon and Pete were exceptionally friendly and helpful with guides and routes for us too take advantage of the beautiful and breathtaking walks Keswick has too offer they made us feel so welcome and at home that we will be staying there again on our next visit to Keswick.

Lisa and Thanos x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodgepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here during the Mountain Festival weekend and Burnside was a great location for us as it's close enough to walk into Keswick without being in the thick of town. Sharon was a good host and presented us with excellent cooked breakfasts for our 2 night stay. Our room was comfortable and spotless. If you like to stay somewhere near enough but far enough from town this B&B is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Sharon and Pete, our friendly hosts, provided us with a lovely breakfast each day and Sharon,s knowledge of local walks was a tremendous help to us! Only 50 yards from Burnside is a lovely secluded walk on the old railway line. This is perfect for walking into keswick town centre. The disused railway line (now a foot/cycle path) is ideal for walking or cycling into Keswick and a canopy of trees keeps you cool on a warm day. Burnside is a spotlessly clean house and Sharon provided a first class breakfast each morning - We fully recommend this B and B for your stay in the English Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs042114b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Burnside continues to set the highest standards in every aspect of what I expect from a great B&B. The welcome, local knowledge, hospitality and breakfasts are all excellent.

Rarely is it possible to find a place where the hosts genuinely take care to ensure that guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjw_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This was the cleanest place we have ever stayed. The rooms where cosy, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Sharon the owner has thought of everything for the bathroom, it was very well stocked.
The owners couldnt do enough for you, friendly and very organised. Breakfast was freshly cooked and the cereals and fruit in the dining room always fresh and well stocked.
This was our first ever stay at a bed and breakfast and we struck very lucky to stay at such a lovely well run BB.
Very much recommended
Ross & Debi McMahon. Lancs

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our stay at Burnside could not have been more wonderful. After 40+ years of visiting Britain, this is the most immaculate and beautifully decorated bed and breakfast we have seen. The establishment is well-maintained and extemely comfortable, the breakfasts are appetizing and varied, and the proprietor Sharon is delightfully warm. You can pay more, but you cannot get more in the way of a welcoming environment in a great location. The owners' attention to detail in this guesthouse elevates it above the commonplace.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraMae50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
612 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
326 reviews
1.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing