We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to experience Fawlty Towers in Keswick, then look no further.”

The Square Orange Cafe Bar
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Please note that we do not take bookings.
Kendal, Cumbria.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you want to experience Fawlty Towers in Keswick, then look no further.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had the misfortune to choose The Square Orange for an evening meal on 09/08/13.

The place looked welcoming and because we used to enjoy going to The Square Orange in Kendal, we thought it would be a good choice, how wrong we were.

There were four of us, we choose our pizzas and went to the bar to order.
The surly waitress told us abruptly she needed the number on the menu for the type of pizzas we wanted. Bear in mind three were the same and one calzone, not exactly rocket science.

Ordered one pint and a bottle of Rose, waitress said they had no wine glasses because they were all in use so all they had were half pint glasses, very classy! Eventually three wine glasses became available so the wine was decanted from the half pints.

The wait for the pizzas was quite a while, (one bottle of wine and two pints) we didn’t mind because it did say there may be a delay the menu, the place was fairly busy but not overly.

Two pizzas arrived, waited a few minutes before realising the others were not going to make an appearance any time soon. I noticed about 5 minutes after the delivery, a calzone being put in one of the two tiny pizza ovens; this was mine, why on earth wasn’t it put in straight after the first pizza came out? The first two pizzas were finished before the second two arrived.
The only plus side of the visit, the pizzas were very nice. Well done chef.

My friend saw posters advertising a bottled beer which is drunk out of a very fancy type of glass. This was the reason he ordered it was for the novelty.
He was told they only had two of these glasses and both were in use. So yet again we had to wait for the glass.

On paying the bill, our moody waitress was messing about with tea lights behind the counter and snapped at my wife who was only attempting to pay the bill so we could leave this Mickey Mouse run establishment.

My tip to management, buy some glasses and employ a more pleasant waitress.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JukeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    166
    30
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely melt in the mouth tapas and pizza, Pago strawberry juice (don't see it around very often) and great atmosphere; the sort you'd like to bottle! Next time I go I'm hoping to indulge in a nice glass of crisp white and some manchego...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CFGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly staff, good food and drink”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Always a delight to go to the Square Orange, beer and wine are always served to perfection. Such a relief today after a disappointing experience in a pub at the other end of the market square. A nice friendly welcome for us and our tired dog.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keswicks-great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A regular treat!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food every time in a lovely friendly atmosphere! We have raved about this little place to all of our friends since we 'found it', over 12 months ago and visited many times. Our friends now visit too. The square orange is outstandingly successful in what they do, it is simple but good and works so well. It's sad there aren't more square oranges about!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We passed by this cafe bar whilst on a walking treasure hunt of Keswick. A few hundred yards from the main square, it is slightly hidden from the main shopping area, but it is a little gem. Freshly made pizza, great tapas, friendly service, clean, great coffee, local real ales on tap, .....
We had no hesitation in going back at the end of the tour for lunch. The menu is limited to pizza and tapas, ciabattas, plus some local cheese based dishes - but less is more. Pizzas freshly made as we sat with drinks, and tapas full of flavour and generous portions also.
We were glad to have supported a local independent cafe, and would not hesitate to recommend. We were two families with 6 children between us, and we felt looked after. Not huge amounts of seating, but guess that limited capacity and tapas bar style decor part of the charm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square Orange Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Square Orange Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing