We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look forward to returning for longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salisbury Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Look forward to returning for longer”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Only stayed the one night on a long overdue return to Keswick. Peter was brilliant from point of booking to departure. We got the larger room as we knew we wouldn't be up for a big night out and made use of the selection of 200 DVDs available whilst planning the next day using the wide selection of information books/ maps of the area. In the end the weather put us off these plans, but followed Peter's recommendation and we were so pleased we did! The room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Breakfast had pretty much everything that you would expect; continental and cooked available.We were able to keep bikes in locked area too.
Thank you so much for making our short stay so lovely!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RachelAts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks Rachel. One of the reasons we bought this place was the potential to store sports equipment as Keswick if a place where activity is everything whether it be walking, cycling etc. We built the DVD collection of classic films to provide an alternative to a night out and it has indeed proved very popular. Hope all is well with you too from all at Salisbury House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
160
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Right in the heart of Keswick City centre, this B&B is one of the best places that I have stayed with my family.

The breakfast is cooked by a chef and, is superb and wonderfully cooked. The room where we stayed was pretty good in size and nicely done.

But the best part of this place is it's owner Peter - he is the guy that makes the difference and makes Salisbury stand out. Peter is an extremely amazing host, with loads of local knowledge that he makes sure to share with all his guests. He is a very warm person with an helpful attitude. After staying here and meeting him it is easy to understand why this B&B has a 5 star rating within the first year of its existence!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajpareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks Raj. We are very pleased you (and family) had a good time here. We built our library/info centre to make it as easy as possible for people to get the most out of their visit to Keswick and the surrounds. If we in the meantime can provide you with a good place to stay then great for us too! Thank you for your kind words. All at Salisbury House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you are looking for a B&B in Keswick then stop looking - this is it - you will not find better. We only stayed the one night but we are planning our return. My only concern is that when word gets out the place will be fully booked and we won't be able to get in.......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks for that review and we would also love to have you back here too! We always tell guests to call us ahead of time as we are happy to put speculative dates on hold until details are sorted out. Best regards from Peter and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Peter is the warmest, friendliest most helpful host you could want to meet. With loads of knowledge on the local area. Our room was modern / contemporary and was spotless with lovelly white good quality bedding. The breakfast was superbly cooked and delicious local produce. They do the basics brilliantly but its the small touches that make this place so special. This will be our go to place to stay when in the North Lakes area, and I imagine for many others too when the word gets round about it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to say a few words about us, it means a lot. Keswick is a fantastic place to visit so if we are able to make a difference and add to your experience then we are doing our job. Hope all is well with you and hope to see you again sometime. All at Salisbury House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Salisbury House provides everything you could ever wish for from a Bed & Breakfast in abundance ...... impeccable housekeeping standards, stylish bedroom decor, fluffy towels, powerful hot showers, tasty breakfasts (beautifully presented) and a convenient location (just a couple of minutes' walk to the centre of Keswick, but in a quiet side street). Hosts Peter and Alex have perfected the magic recipe for success; their attention to detail is amazing. You will have a wonderful time! Thanks for a lovely weekend. Andy and Julie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x-SmileyEyes-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Well what a lovely review, thank you very much! Relaxed atmosphere and detail is what we are about so again, thank you for noticing. Hope you are both well. Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valence, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Salisbury - it is top quality - clean, neat and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. It is a one minute walk to the centre of Keswick. Peter is very friendly and helpful. We are happy to recommen d this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyGfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
A huge thank you from all at Salisbury House for taking the time to review us. Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stopped in Keswick while cycling on the C2C route and The Salisbury was recommended to us by a local. Ours was a last minute booking and Peter was extremely helpful with directions before we arrived and took care of our bikes - and us - on arrival, with great care. It is perfectly located being a short walk to the main street while being tucked in a quiet residential street (we learned the hard way with other BnBs on noisy streets). The room was well appointed, modern, clean and with a wonderful attention to detail, from vast information on the local area to DVDs and books to borrow. Breakfast was sensational!. You get the sense that the hosts genuinely enjoy and take pride in providing exceptional service and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_Paul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad we could accommodate you and the bikes. Keswick is a destination for the lovers of the great outdoors so if we can help.... just ask. All the very best from us all @Salisbury House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
463 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 173 in Keswick
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Guesthouse

Property: The Salisbury Guesthouse
Address: 36 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury House is a modern boutique style Guest House, three minutes walk from the centre of Keswick. Our rooms are of a high standard to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The en-suites have quality fittings and are particularly large in our suite and triple room and our showers are guaranteed to give an invigorating start to the day. The cooked breakfasts are all made using locally sourced produce and while they are cooking you can enjoy a good selection of fresh fruit salad, toast and preserves and cereals. We presently have a secure area for bikes (off street) have a number of boot warmers/dryers. Dogs with prior arrangement. Parking is on street and free of charge for the length of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Salisbury Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing