We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - location, host, quality/value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salisbury Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous - location, host, quality/value”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently visited this B&B with my boyfriend and his parents. We spent 2 nights there and we were thoroughly impressed with the place. The place is so clean it looks like it has just been refurbished. The bathrooms are spotless and high quality finish, the beds are extremely comfortable and again very good quality bed linen. Breakfast was delicious with perfectly cooked eggs every morning and a great selection. Peter is extremely knowledgeable of the local area and is clearly proud of it. he is extremely willing to share his knowledge and provide his opinion on where to go and what to as there is lots to do. His guidance we found very useful. The quality and value for money we received was second to none! Will most definitely go back if visiting Keswick! HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It really means a lot that you no only appreciate the standard we are striving to attain but also the detail you have gone into in your response. Thank you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
155
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night, in room 1. Peter was very welcoming attentive and knowledgeable of the local and surrounding area. Room was immaculately clean and my partner and I both slept very well. Approx 3 minute walk to Keswick centre, lovely breakfast and good value for money. Decor is clean and modern and no chintz! Definitely would recommend to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisychain27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Big thank you for your review. Much appreciated by all here and hope to see you again sometime. Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had two nights here over the weekend with friends to go walking. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and Peter was an excellent host. He is extremely knowledgeable about the area and walks in the area as well as the best places to eat round and about. He checked the weather forecast to see which walk would get the best views that day and lent us the necessary maps- he has a great library of these. There are also plenty of DVD's and books if you want to relax after a walk. The accommodation is well located for Keswick town centre.Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and piping hot with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house are quieter and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for the review. We do try to cover all the bases here at Salisbury House and Peter indeed makes sure he has all the weather reports to hand every morning as we know how planned walks can change depending on conditions. It was great to look after you. Alex (the chef)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and family had a 2 night stay over the weekend, agree with all other reviews. Super clean, super tasty breakfast, super service,super host. Peter (host) explained he's recently changed careers to open the Guest House- you'd think he'd been in business for years, great move for him .............and guests, bankings loss! thanks Peter and Alex

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Well thank you very much for that review! Happy guests are exactly what we are trying to achieve and we buy the best ingredients for breakfast and try to make every aspect of your stay as good as we possibly can. Hope to see you again in the future. All the very best from us. Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is an excellent B&B. Just returned from a 2 night family break at the Salisbury. The fantastic service started prior to our arrival with Peter contacting me to advise he had purchased a travel cot for our little girl and no need to take our own. My mother required a Gluten free diet which was catered for at breakfast, a lovely touch was that my mother also found gluten free biscuits in her room. The Salisbury is a perfect base to return to after a days exploring and a one we would not hesitate to return to when next in the Lake District.
All previous reviews say just the way it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad to have helped with the gluten free diet too. We like to think that all diets can be catered for and as we have family members who have gluten free diets we know where to source good products. Best to you all. Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hi went to Keswick for one night. Great that we could get into such a popular guesthouse. Greeting was great by Peter explained everything we needed to know about room and town. Highly recommended. Rooms were great and other guests all very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
It is always nice for us if seasoned travellers like you guys take the time to review us. Hope the rest of your trip was fantastic and if you are ever in Keswick again, come and say hello. Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at this b&b. The room was immaculate and very comfortable, the breakfast freshly cooked and very tasty and the owners very welcoming. The b&b is ideally located, only 5 mins walk into the town centre yet it is quiet. We stayed in June when the weather was very mixed but they had thought of everything, bags by the door for your muddy boots, a tray in your room to keep your boots on and there was even the offer of boot warmers! If you were unsure of where you were heading for the day Peter would suggest a few walks and lend you maps.
We will definitely return and recommend to others

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We bought the boot warmers as we know all too well how unpleasant it is to put on wet boots if it has rained on a previous day. It is always nice to read that you had a good time here and we look forward to seeing you both again. All the best from all at Salisbury House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
457 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Guesthouse

Property: The Salisbury Guesthouse
Address: 36 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury House is a modern boutique style Guest House, three minutes walk from the centre of Keswick. Our rooms are of a high standard to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The en-suites have quality fittings and are particularly large in our suite and triple room and our showers are guaranteed to give an invigorating start to the day. The cooked breakfasts are all made using locally sourced produce and while they are cooking you can enjoy a good selection of fresh fruit salad, toast and preserves and cereals. We presently have a secure area for bikes (off street) have a number of boot warmers/dryers. Dogs with prior arrangement. Parking is on street and free of charge for the length of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Salisbury Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing