We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salisbury Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Salisbury a few weeks ago - 7 of us on a weekend away. The attention to detail was amazing - we were really well cared for and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully clean and styled well. The bathrooms are fantastic. Very thick cosy towels and comfy beds. Breakfast was great and the little treat on the morning you leave was a lovely touch. Our hosts really enjoy being hospitable and sharing their home with their guests. Top recommendation!!!

Room Tip: All were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you very much for those nice comments. It's great to hear you like Salisbury House and indeed we enjoyed having you all here. Hope all is well with you all. Alex and Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
155
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

At least a place on earth about which one can only write very positive words : I arrived late in the evening and received a warm welcome. My room was very clean, the bed was extremely good, I had a very good and quiet night. And what a great sight on the mountains when I woke up. Alex prepared an excellent breakfast served by Peter who was full of enthousiasm to comment about the B&B and about all what one could do in Keswick and its surroundings. If one is looking for a great place to stay, a pleasure for the stomac, and two friendly faces taking care of you, then this is the place to go! Thank you Peter and Alex. JP

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 313voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us in such a nice way and we hope your journey back to France was an easy one. Come and say hello if you are ever back in Keswick. Best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Last weekend my husband and I stayed at the Salisbury Guesthouse, Keswick and it was first class.
We've travelled all over the world and stayed in top hotels.
The quality and comfort of the bed at the Salisbury matched them.
The cooked breakfast of locally sourced produce bettered them and the hospitality was perfect.
The rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean.
Every future visit to Keswick for us will definitely mean a stay at the Salisbury Guesthouse as we can't think of a good reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing Salisbury House in such a nice way and we are very happy you had such a good stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

As Belgians, we were astonished about this beautiful area in England.
We've stayed for 4 nights in this lovely B&B in Keswick in a room with a fantastic view. We had a splendid experience in this place. Spotless room and bathroom (with plenty of very hot water in the shower), with extra attention to small details (fresh flowers and nice music in the breakfast room, small portions of luxury quality soap and shampoo, fluffy towels ...).
The breakfast is of equal or even better quality than in most four star hotels, with local genuine products. We definitely recommend the poached eggs and the black pudding, not to forget the Cumberland sausage.
We will certainly recommend this to all our friends and plan to return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Lovely to hear from you and great that we have converted our international visitors to poached eggs and black pudding! Keswick is indeed a stunning place and we are happy to have been part of your holiday. Hope you are both well (and the dog). Best wishes from Salisbury House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is run by Peter and Alex They are marvellous hosts The attention to detail is spot on The all place is spotless and the breakfast is scrumptious The location is close to all the attractions of Keswick
There is a bookshelf full of books and maps and information on walks and pathways around Keswick and the rest of the lake district. There are also DVDs to borrow if you fancy a cosy night in your room This is a excellent place to stay to investigate Keswick and the lake district

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. It's nice to hear that the work we put in is appreciated but more importantly that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best to you both and maybe see you back in Keswick sometime. (We'll try and arrange a NUFC victory next time :-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovely place to stay breakfast excellent, peter was so helpful and looked after us really well, giving us a weather report every morning, rooms spotless and very comfortable especially the pillows!!! will recommend this to friends would certainly go back there.

Room Tip: Room was spacious and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here, the room was exactly as described - large with a great view, with a settee and room to relax in between activities. It was spotless. When we asked if we could have Earl Grey teabags in the room, they were provided straight away. Our host Peter was so friendly and did everything to make our stay enjoyable - great to be able to pick from extensive DVDs and maps etc! The breakfasts were delicious although we ate too much!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahravendew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to look after you both and thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Glad you like it. Peter and Alex @Salisbury House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
457 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Guesthouse

Property: The Salisbury Guesthouse
Address: 36 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury House is a modern boutique style Guest House, three minutes walk from the centre of Keswick. Our rooms are of a high standard to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The en-suites have quality fittings and are particularly large in our suite and triple room and our showers are guaranteed to give an invigorating start to the day. The cooked breakfasts are all made using locally sourced produce and while they are cooking you can enjoy a good selection of fresh fruit salad, toast and preserves and cereals. We presently have a secure area for bikes (off street) have a number of boot warmers/dryers. Dogs with prior arrangement. Parking is on street and free of charge for the length of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Salisbury Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing