We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place To Stay”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George Hotel
Ranked #82 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Goerge. It was fanastic. Everything was exceptional and I cannot praise the staff enough. From the cleaning to the food it was top class. One of the best holidays weve had. Didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: The rooms were very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayReviewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 233 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

Came home Monday from a weekend at the George in Keswick staff very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was outstanding plenty of it I got the full Cumbrian both mornings and that was me full for the day, and im a bit of a fat lad.

The wife had the full breakfast first morning but second chose the continental, which was ham with an assortments of cheeses with ripe tomatoes and a touch of salad, also juice and cereals and fresh fruit, could not fault it one bit.

The evening meal was the same, quality produce and if you like fish the chefs special lemon sole was the best I have tasted.

Or room was a double on the first floor and was comfortable not the biggest I have stopped in but enough room to get about, canny on suite shower, not enough shelve space and room to hang towels but just very minor things.

One thing I did-not like was the beds were not made from the night before and no one had been in to clean our room while we were out for the day.

Overall a very pleasant stay and the weather was scorching, which is a major plus in the lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moe149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I haven't stayed here but as others have don, I just wanted comment on the food.

I have eaten here several times, and on each occassion after a long walk my friends and I visit here for the famous cow pie challenge. It is absolutely massive and a really challenge. It is of good quality and very reasonably priced. I've managed to finish the pie on one occassion. Well worth a visit for the challenge.

Service has always been good.

Sorry I can't help in relation to the hotel.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank jimbob317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We have stayed at The George now on numerous occasions over the last two years and it is a place we will continue to visit as regularly as we can.
We have visited both as a couple with freinds and I personally stay here when I have work to do in the Cumbria area, never have I been able to fault it in any way.
The staff have always been friendly and helpful as well as attentive, the locals actually recommended it to me on my first stay in Keswick (at another hotel for work purposes) when I went on my scouting mission of the pubs and accomodation in the town, and it was the only place where the locals did make me feel very welcome when I enquired about the accomodation making me want to stay here all the more and now we know why.
The food is excellent with very generous portions I have tired and been unable to finish the famous half cow pie - did not need a starter of desert, have also tried several of the other offerings on the menu over time and have never been dissapointed. and I like my food! Breakfast is always good and food is locally sourced.
The rooms in my opinion are well appointed and always clean and well presented, the beds very comfortable, large towels which we like and some toiletries provided.
Now free wi fi is available to guests - have not tried this as we have our own mobile internet access and although parking is limited at the back of the pub they now provide parking permits for the local car parks - a refundable deposit of £20 get a car park pass.
We have recommended this place to all our friends, some of whom have stayed here as well as others we see on a regular basis and have also stayed here with some of our friends and family, not one of whom has had a bad word to say about the place! Many have gone back for a second visit on thier own or with their own family and friends and continue to recommend the virtues of this old coaching inn.
Traffic noise is minimal - what do you expect with a building of this age with sash windows? The pub is locked each night at 11.30 and we have never experienced any noise from residents etc after this time.
We as a couple, a family and I as a lone female traveller who appreciates the security and confort this place offers without the need for overnight staff will continue to holiday here and visit when working for as long as we can.

Room Tip: Book direct with the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

stopped at the george fantastic been to keswick many times had at great time at the george the food is great the staff very freindly will go again and again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcwholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Good Things: this is a really lovely 300 year old pub with old wobbly floors etc, fanastic location in the middle of Keswick, our room (number 6) was nicely decorated and well appointed. The bed was large, clean and comfortable. It was easy to control the room temperature. The towels were thick and large. We got one of the few carpark spaces in the pub carpark. Lovely breakfast on our first morning, good dinner on our first night, lovely female staff.

Not-So-Good Things: one rating star lost for a very shabby bathroom, quite out of keeping with the rest of room 6, needs completely gutting (generally clean enough to use, but not £100 a night standard), no hooks or rails in the room not even for towels. Another star lost for variable food (revolting "vegetarian sausage" which was a soggy potato croquette with peas and carrots in it, and "Boston Beef" so vinegary as to be inedible, no wifi for guests in an area with rubbish mobile phone signals, and some of the male staff were very surly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calamity J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the george. we had booked at another hotel but was put off by the reviews, glad we were, this is a little gem, not the poshes, but old fashioned quaint. Staff very friendly and helpful, food very good (and huge portions) The rooms are warm and spotless, and the bathroom was massive, the water was red hot every evening and morning. Do agree with a previous review that the noise from outside can be a little loud, but didnt keep us awake.
The pub is always busy at night and used by locals and guests alike, will be back again at some time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#10 of 17 in Keswick
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 3 St. Johns Street | 3, Keswick CA12 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $156 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing