We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, dog friendly and close to town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #68 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kidsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B, dog friendly and close to town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed at Lynwood three times, twice by myself and once with my partner and on all occasions I have received a warm welcome and very flexible on arrival times, especially when public transport lets you down. The location is close to the town centre and one of the few places that you feel your dog is welcome too. Good facilities and comfortable rooms. Will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    18
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
113
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

On a well-deserved break from our B&B business (Galvelbeg House B&B, Crieff, Perthshire) we decided to return to Keswick, as it is our favourite location in the Lake District.
Looking for a dog-friendly, good value, close to Town Centre B&B with great reviews on Trip Advisor we came up with Lynwood House.
From the initial email enquiry the communication with Melissa & Paul was excellent and as we had 2 well-behaved dogs they kindly offered to put us in the largest double room. Even though we managed to bring enough stuff for 3 months rather than 3 nights we still had plenty of room in this bright and airy room. The small leather sofa was great for settling down to watch a bit of TV after a day out. The en-suite shower room was clean and modern, the bed very comfortable , pretty much all you required.
Breakfast is pre-ordered the night before and there’s a great choice from a full English, porridge, croissants and kippers. Also a very nice fruit salad and the usual choice of cereals and fruit juices.
For advice on things to do both Paul & Melissa were very helpful, on Day 1 Paul lent us some guide books to help us in planning our walk to Castlerigg Stone Circle. Really nice circular low-level walk if the weather is poor and we survived – rain, sleet & snow! At the end of this walk we finished by Derwent Water to get the dogs cleaned off then walked back into town to the Java coffee shop (see my other review!!).
On day 2 we were planning to go from Lodore to Rosthwaite via the Falls and Watendlath. Paul mentioned that the Borrowdale road was closed due to subsidence and managed to get us a bus timetable for the amended route.
For dog-friendly places to eat, there are many in Keswick, the first recommendation from Melissa was the Lakes Bistro and then finally Melissa recommended a great restaurant for Sat night when our daughter and her boyfriend were joining us – Luca’s.
You can tell that Paul & Melissa enjoy what they do and they have a great pride in Keswick and as fellow B&B owners it was lovely to be on the receiving end of some TLC!
Apart from the weather which unfortunately no-one can control we had a great break and would definitely recommend Lynwood to others and hopefully we will return.

Room Tip: We had Room 3, which is a larger double and was great for us, our 2 dogs and loads of stuff!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

First time staying here and it couldn't have been better. Our room was clean, beautifully decorated, good storage and had a lovely en-suite with the nicest shower (which it needed to be after all the long walks we did!) There was lovely little extras like a bottle of water, a good supply of tea and coffee and some biscuits as well as free wifi and a tv which meant we could keep an eye on the olympics.

The hosts, Paul and Melissa were friendly, professional and a real help - they recommended excellent walks, local restaurants and where to rent/buy addiitonal walking bits. Breakfast was absolutely amazing and my husband complained when we came home that he missed them! There was a good selection and they even bought lactose free milk when they found out I was lactose intolerant which I was really touched by. The good breakfast meant that we only needed to take a little chocolate bar and water for our lunch so we could spend the day walking and come back for dinner.

The location is ideal - 2-5 minutes into town one way and 2 minutes the other way to access other walks/nearby wood area. The location meant we could go to things like the local pub quiz and still be back and asleep by 11pm with very little/no noise along the road.

We stayed 4 nights (and it was my first time in the Lakes) but we will be re booking for later in the year to stay for longer as we both enjoyed the experience so much!

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottenoella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Having last stayed at the Lynwood with the hosts Paul and Melissa just a little over two years ago, when at the time we gave a glowing review to this lovely guesthouse, we were obviously curious when my wife and I with our little dog booked a couple of nights again that its excellent standards would have been kept up. Im pleased to say that it met our expectations and the hosts have kept up with the meticulous attention to detail in keeping the rooms fresh, clean and the furnishings in lovely order. As ever the breakfast had a very good choice of fresh produce and the guests are tentative and welcoming.
Great location on a upscale lane which 2 minutes walk in one direction takes you into the town center and 2 minutes walk in the other direction and your walking through fields and into woods.
Great job, look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Pleasant aspect from front or rear and the lane which it is one is very quite. We stayed in room 3 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Paul and Melissa were really welcoming and helpful. Rooms were lovely and spacious, nicely decorated and modern. Breakfast was excellent, offering a great selection and location is perfect! After visiting quite a few other BnBs we now wouldn't want to stay anywhere else and will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelLauraMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Had such a lovely couple of days, mainly due to the hostel and how lovely Paul and Melissa were! Our room was fantastic, it had everything you needed in it and the breakfast was amazing! The location was right next to the town centre, and next to all the great walks you can go on in Keswick.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaraSpeller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

am a coach driver and stopped in loads of hotels and b&b's ive got to say this is defiantly rated one of the best the hosts where great the location was fantastic the room was excellent and the breakfast excellent i highly recomend that you visit

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#64 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#101 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#90 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#46 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#87 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acorn House Hotel
Acorn House Hotel
#70 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Guesthouse B&B

Property: Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Address: 12 Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large Victorian property in a quiet location but with easy access to all that Keswick has to offer. The Town Centre with all its restaurants and pubs are only a five minute stroll away and Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake is ten minutes away. All of our rooms have ensuites which have recently been updated. The rooms are large and other than one all have views of Keswick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lynwood Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing