We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Keswick Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Ranked #41 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Stayed at the Babbling Brook in May. Owners really friendly and welcoming. B & B itself spotless. Good breakfast. A five minute walk from main street in Keswick.
The room was tiny and there is only one bathroom on the top floor to share with all other people with no ensuite. Not good after a night on the booze! There was no lounge. Right on the main road into Keswick so very noisy at night, even though our room was in the side street.
I think £30 a night each is quite steep for a B & B or is that just because I havent stayed in one for years?
We also stayed at the Aphrodites Lodge themed hotel that weekend and paid £35 each for a themed room (Tuscany) and use of swimming pool, sauna, steam and spa in top Winderemere hotel as theirs was being refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 193 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in Babbling Brook room 6 (2nd floor). Highlights were the cleanliness of the room and guesthouse itself, the friendly and welcoming attitude of the owners Paul and Angela, and the substantial breakfast. Also there is no parking available, you have to find space on the street which can be difficult.

Some things that might annoy some (but we weren't bothered by) were the size of the room and ensuite (both small and shower not very powerful), the noise outside as it is next to a main road (on the first night we were woken by a drunken yob shouting on his way home), the fact that they only accept cash not cards, and the blinds being quite thin so light sleepers might be woken by that. Like I say, this did not bother us hugely and we would definitely stay there again. It is perfect for walkers, especially as the breakfast is good and sets you up for the day.

A tip if you're thinking of booking- you can get cheaper rates by phoning them directly (number on website or google it). We booked through laterooms but found out we could have got a cheaper deal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley-wayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We only saw Paul but he was friendly and helpful and went beyond normal limits to help us out. Room was small but clean and tidy and everything worked. Breakfast was good (even catered for vegetarian and lactose free diet) and there was plenty of it. We'll be going back again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with how clean & friendly the hotel is.
I was very pleased with the Vegetarian breakfast, and friendly atmosphere.
The only thing I would say, is that we were right on the main road, and had traffic noise all night, Blackout curtains would also have helped with the car lights shining in the room. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnybirdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

It was lovely to arrive and know immediatly you stepped through the door everything was going to be clean (very important for me) The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room (No 6) was quite adequate with a small en-suite. There was some traffic noise through the night but it was a saturday and i had the window open. The breakfast was delicious. All in all a very pleasant stay if only for 1 night. As we were leaving we were asked if we wanted any fruit for the journey,just little things that make this place so nice. Thank you both

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Babbling Brook with my son who was aged 3 yrs old at the time. We were greeted by Paul and Angie (who were so friendly) and they made us feel welcome and at home straight away. Paul has a vast knowlege of the area and hills etc.
The breakfast Angie served was second to none and nothing was too much trouble - everything was freshly cooked and locally sourced produce made this a very tasty breakfast. You help yourself to tea, coffee, cereals and toast which we thought was a great idea as then there is very little waste.
Rooms are very comfortable and the beds are so comfy that you have a good nights sleep.
I would certainly recommend this B & B to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p199132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#88 of 196 in Keswick
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#71 of 196 in Keswick
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 196 in Keswick
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Barn-Gill House
Barn-Gill House
#2 of 2 in Thirlmere
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#66 of 196 in Keswick
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acorn House Hotel
Acorn House Hotel
#98 of 196 in Keswick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Address: 1 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $83 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Guesthouse in the Lake District having quality beds and offering superb breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Babbling Brook Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing