We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were booked into the Guesthouse through Contour Walking Tour so we were not sure what it would be like and what a jewel we found. We only stayed one night but wished it could have been more. Paul was an excellent host and gave us some great tips about places to eat in Keswick which made our stay even more enjoyable. It was very nice to be across the street from the river and able to stroll the path along all of the playing field after dinner. It was a great ending to a wonderful walking tour through the Lake District. We can't wait until we can go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    34
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Had a lovely time. The Guest House is very close to Keswick which meant just a 5 minute walk. Paul was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very tasty and filling, ideal for walkers. We found the rooms very clean, comfortable and the bed was the most comfortable that we have ever slept in. We had only booked at last minute for a night but we will definitely be back we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Joanne and Mike - Warrington.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed in one of the double en-suite rooms. The room was very clean with really comfy beds. Im really picky when it comes to hotels and this was my first stay in a B&B, ive always been reluctant to stay in guest houses before but i have to say i was really pleased with this one. The entire B&B was really clean and well kept. Management was really plesent but not fussy which was nice. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fusspot83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a little gem made all the better by Paul and Angela who go that extra mile to look after their guests. The whole place is spotless, and the breakfasts are cooked to perfection, especialy the poached eggs which you must ask for ;-) . We had a car accident whilst there and nothing was too much trouble for them, helping us any way they could. So thanks both and if we pass that way again we know where we are staying.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beduth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have just returned from a few days in the Lakes where a good friend was getting married. Not only was the accommodation of a great standard but the owners were really as good as what other people have commented on, if not better. Nothing was too much hassle. They offered great advice on a the area, from a fantastic walk with great views, to the best places to eat in the area. They also advised us on a some beaufitul places to visit in the car nearby. If all this wasn't enough then the hearty breakfast would set you up for the day! Nothing was too much hassle, even when my partner realised he'd left his belt at home which he needed for the wedding Paul (who was already out at this point) drove back and lent him a belt, then took us for our car the next day which we'd left at the hotel where the wedding was taking place. Every guesthouse/hotel should have an Angela and Paul. Thanks for a great stay Babbling Brook. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I made a very last minute booking for a few days of walking in the Lakes. There were lots of options for accommodation, but I booked The Babbling Brook based on the reviews I had read...and they were spot on. This B&B is a gem.

Angela and Paul are exactly the sort of hosts you hope to find when you arrive at a B&B; welcoming, friendly and genuinely passionate about what they do. They clearly love the area and were able to provide great advice on the best areas for walking and also where to eat after a long day in the hills!

Whilst the room wasn't huge (it doesn't need to be if you're spending time outdoors in the Lakes!) the accommodation was spotless, with comfortable beds meaning a great nights sleep. Breakfast was certainly hearty with a quality and perfectly cooked full English setting you up for the day.

Thank you Angie and Paul for a great few days and for being so welcoming. Hope to be back again later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geodesic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend trip in Feb to run the Buttermere round race. Nice modern accomodation, very friendly owners and delicious breakfast served with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPennNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#73 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#63 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#62 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Property: Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Address: 1 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Guesthouse in the Lake District having quality beds and offering superb breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Babbling Brook Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing