We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for lunch, dinner or overnight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mary Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mary Mount Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Northants
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch, dinner or overnight”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mary Mount for Christmas and it was one of our best. We have since been back while staying in Keswick and the food has to be the best in the area. The food is always fresh, excellently presented and tasty. The staff are always second to none and cannot do enough. If you're staying in the Keswick/Borrowdale area this has to be the best place to eat and stay. The only negative is you get too much food, then it's a hard walk back to Keswick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachiebabes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    136
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
82
315
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Our room was in an annex at the rear and was of a good size and clean. A wet room rather than a standard bathroom was a nice change. The view was unforfunately of the car park rather than the surrounding hills but the view from the restaurant and lounge area is lovely. (A small telescope is set up in the lounge to use and free wifi is also available here.) We had evening meals twice and all though ok they were nothing special for the price. ( my two gripes are tha thet menu is the same everyday , and that breakfast is only served between 8am and 9am, so no chance of agood lie in if you are there for a break and not the hill walking ) the staff are all freindly and polite and attentive to your needs. The launch is literally 2min walk through the grounds so very handy. Overall I did enjoy my stay here and would quite happily return

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank STUGDERBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had stayed at the Mary Mount on 2 previous occasions and had been pleased with our stay. The room had been comfortable, staff friendly and food enjoyable. Last weekend we were staying at the Lodore Falls Hotel but fancied a change for lunch and so visited the Mary Mount sure that the food would be lovely. It wasn't, it was awful and we waited for ages for both the waitress to take our order and the the food itself. When she did arrive she quickly cleaned the table and was friendly and polite. We ordered steak wraps with chips and side salad. The wraps barely had any steak in them and what was n them was mostly gristle. There was plenty of onion in the wraps and much mayo, they were also cold. On the more positive side though the staff remain pleasant and the views outstanding. The seating area both outside and inside is comfortable and the gardens remain beautiful. I hope this was just a one off mistake and that the experience doesn't put us off going there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We first visited this unique hotel on the beautiful shores of Derwent Water 2 years ago and returned to extend our holiday by 1 night again this August. The owners have been very busy in that time refurbishing the beautiful garden area that overlooks the shores of Derwent Water and the restaurant and bar. Fortunately the bird feeders that the red squirrels visit as well as numerous birds have been kept that add even more interest to the outlook of this hotel. We were a little disappointed that the refurbishment had not extended to the family room, which is large - has a double and 2 3ft single beds - a rare thing to have proper beds for the children instead of them having the usual hotel provision of sofa-bed. However the room was bright and clean. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked to order. We did not eat in the restaurant, treating ourselves to evening meal in the neighbouring Lodore Falls Hotel (strongly recommended). Mary Mount has a jetty just a couple of minutes walk away (a little wet under foot following heavy rain) where the ferry to Keswick calls and also is a base for Platty+ kyak and boat hire (recommended). All the staff including the owners were professional and friendly. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiNoo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spotted and stayed for drink while out walking last year. Said at the time would love to come and stay here.
Lovely hotel to stay, nice and quite. Manager and his staff are very friendly and helpful
Food is of an excellent quality, cater for kinds of diet.
Hotel is situated right next to the ferry pier, so you can catch the ferry into Keswick which only takes about 15 minutes

Room Tip: We stayed in the new block, large rooms and very comfortable, quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

From day one following a long drive the team at the Mary Mount went out of their way to be helpful.

Very hard working staff.

Perfect venue. Right next to ferry pier to Keswick. Terrific walk to waterfalls directly behind and on to the famous Watendlaith tarn.
Great stay. I'll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the Mary Mount for 2 nights 7th/8th Aug.Lovely atmosphere,staff very pleasant,Had evening meal first night which was very good.Second night we ate out in Keswick. Manager went out of his way to try and get us a taxi for 5.
Breakfast was good.Rooms very dated hence the 2 star but very clean and a good nights sleep.Two minutes walk to the ferry launch.
would definately go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
4.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
577 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,005 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
565 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Mount Hotel

Property: Mary Mount Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mary Mount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary Mount is a family run hotel, which offers a peacefulcountry house atmosphere. Set in idyllic surroundings onthe shore of Derwentwater in the English Lake District, itis the ideal place to escape life's pressures. So come andenjoy the peace and tranquillity of this friendly hotel.There is ample parking and you can leave the car foryour entire stay if you wish, as there are plenty of walksthat can be done from the hotel, and there is wildlife inabundance all around. The hotel is only yards from theLodore landing stage of Keswick Launch Company whichmaintains a regular service to Keswick and around thelake. There is also a regular bus service.All rooms are en-suite and as you'd expect, have TVand tea/coffee making facilities.With its oak panelled bar, cosy lounge and dining roomwith a panorama towards Derwentwater and Catbells,there is no better place for getting that complete break.Please call or email directly for any last minute offers andbest rates throughout the year.Everyone and their dogs are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mary Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing