We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Convention Holiday....!”
Review of Mary Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mary Mount Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a Fab break, here. Stunning views great location, peaceful and cosy.
Hotel Staff were friendly and accommodating. We had taken our bikes with us and we were allowed to store them onsite.
Great Value on the Food and bar, was quite Shocked at how small the Total Bill was, as we spent quite a lot of time sitting on the leather sofa in the bar, on the Free Wifi, Chilling and enjoying the view.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break, with Fell Views and plenty of good walks in the local area too.

see ya soon

Room Tip: Room in the New Annex are bigger and have superb view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mint34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 558 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I and our two children (11 and 7) spend a couple of nights at the Mary Mount last week. It was our first trip to the Lakes as a family and the hotel and weather combined to make it a really memorable stay. The hotel staff were just great and really responsive and the views are unbeatable (check the photos). The rooms had all we needed and we were lucky to get a view over the fells. The food was excellent, complete with full breakfast, good wine and a childrens menu. Free wifi too in the bar, restaurant and lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel last week and had a very nice stay. The hotel staff were charming and helpful, the room was clean, the building has some character, and the setting is idyllic - close to the lake and set apart from other buildings.

We are a young couple with a small dog and it was perfect for our budget. The food was decent, not excellent.

The location is what earns it the extra star.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Perfect location for the lakes. Bus and ferry on the doorstep, taxi into Keswick only £7 and they took dogs. Staff friendly and attentive - a high standard of care. Food good. Rooms clean - only comment bathroom too hot as radiator on permanent (presumably to get wet walking gear dry) and hot water was very hot so had to be very careful when washing hands. Would certainly recommend, especially for those wanting to take their dog on holiday with them. This is the first time we had taken our GSD on holiday and the welcome from the staff and other guests took away all the worries we had prior to going plus Kassie did her part by behaving impeccably.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage room with garden view ideal for dog - room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our family while renewing our wedding vows. WOW what a lovely weekend we had there. The staff, rooms, food, hospitality and the grounds were fantastic. All our guests commented on how friendly and helpful the staff were and the cleanliness of their rooms. The views from their rooms were amazing as well as the views from the hotel grounds. Compliments to the chef who provided us with such lovely meals and a buffet which came in generous portion sizes. all or guests paid compliments about their stay with us at this hotel and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone from a weekend stay to having a special occasion there. The staff at the hotel definitely added to make our occasion special.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went here as a 1st time discovery and have to say its one of our better discoveries over the past 42 years.!! The staff were friendly and nothing was a problem. They didnt have pimms and lemonade jugs on the menu..but they made them and added the fruit etc without complaint or trying to get us to change what we wanted to drink. The food portions are enormous..the location perfect. In this recent heatwave, it was like being in a spanish/portugese village location. Views over Derwentwater to two side. Below review says toilets were a mess... must have been the gents..?? the ladies was well stocked and clean, with no rubbish in sight and i never saw a skip in the carpark..??? We spent all day here with our family group ranging from 20month to 72 years and ALL were catered for and facilites available for all. Excellent disabled access.... we cant wait to come back here on our return to the Lkaes in 2 weeks time...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is in a truly beautiful place. We had dinner there twice so cannot comment comprehensively- but as seasoned travellers we do observe.

The staff were friendly- just... but much more so an asking them about their country of origin. A slightly warmer welcome would be so good.

The terrace was lovely, and the food was fine.

BUT
!. The lavatories were a MESS- not so much dirty as very very u tidy with lavatory paper rolls lying around and no towels
2. Just look over the wall of the carpark- skip-loads of rubbish of all kinds just thrown over the wall. This looks like a very seros failure of seniour management.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
1 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Mount Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $119 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mary Mount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary Mount is a family run hotel, which offers a peacefulcountry house atmosphere. Set in idyllic surroundings onthe shore of Derwentwater in the English Lake District, itis the ideal place to escape life's pressures. So come andenjoy the peace and tranquillity of this friendly hotel.There is ample parking and you can leave the car foryour entire stay if you wish, as there are plenty of walksthat can be done from the hotel, and there is wildlife inabundance all around. The hotel is only yards from theLodore landing stage of Keswick Launch Company whichmaintains a regular service to Keswick and around thelake. There is also a regular bus service.All rooms are en-suite and as you'd expect, have TVand tea/coffee making facilities.With its oak panelled bar, cosy lounge and dining roomwith a panorama towards Derwentwater and Catbells,there is no better place for getting that complete break.Please call or email directly for any last minute offers andbest rates throughout the year.Everyone and their dogs are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mary Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing