We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break with family and friends”
Review of Mary Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mary Mount Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break with family and friends”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Been a while since I have visited the lakes, we have been waiting for the children to get a little older so that they can enjoy the walking. We had a great time over 4 days and we will definitely not leave it so long next time, staying at the Mary Mount was a big part of a great trip. The location is fantastic; right on the lake shore, fantastic views and easy access to great walking without needing to get in to the car. The Hotel has a family feel, the staff were all really friendly and attentive. Menu selection was broad enough for everyone in the family and the breakfast was a particularly highlight for us.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    139
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
325
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have just spent three fantastic days at the Mary Mount. The setting is amazing with a number of good walks straight from the hotel (Catbells, of course, but the walk to Grange, Castle Crag and beyond along the river must be done). My children, between 5 and 13, loved it, from watching the birds feed by the hotel in the morning to playing board games by the open fire in the evening. The staff were incredibly attentive throughout with nothing too much trouble. The cooked breakfast was a real hit, as was the food in the evening. A great selection washed down with a little wine- perfect! Great value as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 292CEPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Situated almost on the shore of Derwentwater and surrounded by lovely scenery, this was the perfect location for a 3 night break at the end of March when the weather was beautiful.
Have stayed in the Lake District many times, usually in the Ambleside/Boness area, and found this area a refreshing change.
We booked direct with the hotel under a special offer for B&B + Dinner. Our room (23) had a bay window with small table and 2 lounge chairs and was perfect for sitting and viewing the scenery.
Because Restuarant is open to the public, we expected a kind of typical 'steak house' dining area and food, but this was far from the truth. The food was lovely and anything could be selected from the extensive menu. Menu does not change but that was not a problem and 2 additional different choices were available for each course every evening. Our only complaint was that we had to continually ask for smaller portions! Note, menu can be viewed on hotel web page.
Lovely..we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyrshireOldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Really welcoming hotel with special views of Catbells in the Borrowdale Valley.The room was very comfortable and the food....superb.First time at this hotel though not the area but wont be the last time.Sooooo comfortable

Room Tip: Older rooms were quiet and had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroleog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Returned for a second visit which did not disappoint. Recommend checking out their seasonal DB&B (inc. three course dinner) offers which work out very good value. Found the choice of menu, quality of fare and courteous, efficient service to be yet again most satisfactory, so had no reason to look for alternative dining. Ambient dining with those fantastic views, why would you? Excellent full breakfast with plenty of lighter options available, certainly keep you going for the day. Also tried their packed lunches, poss you could share one between two of you depending on your activity/appetite. Booked a three night stay in the cottage, separate from the main building in room 14 located on the ground floor. Very spacious, comfortably accommodated two adults and one medium sized dog. Pleasant view of surrounding woodland and cliffs heading upwards to Surprise View. Comfy spacious bed, clean cotton linen, room nicely furnished with plenty of storage, good shower over bath, consistent supply of hot water, well stocked tea/coffee tray, TV. Great they allow well behaved dogs in some of their rooms, the two cosy bars and beer gardens (gravelled to the front, grassed terrace to the side - veritable suntraps on sunny days). Brilliant they serve all day. Can park up (free private parking) and leave the car for the duration, as there are plenty of varied walks and activities that can be taken direct from the Hotel. Found all the staff to be consistently naturally friendly, attentive and efficient. Noticed a new building was nearing completion to the side of the cottage, (works did not interfere with our enjoyment) so looks like some tasteful development is being undertaken. It was lovely to come back to this beautiful, charming Lakeland retreat. Can confidently recommend.

Room Tip: Room 14 is located on the ground floor to the rear of the cottage separate to the main building. Dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We did not book this just saw it whilst driving past and thought "Why not?" £100 a night for a smallish but perfect ensuite room with a great view of the lake.
We had a meal in the restaurant which was good value for money. Keswick is 5 minutes up the road and is just lovely with nice bars and some quite reasonable shops.
We are not walkers though the hotel is probably aimed more at the yomping across the mountains type but sitting eating breakfast in the morning watching the amazing variety of birds coming to eat at the feeders. Well the whole package made for the most relaxing weekend either of us have had for some time.
From there we did the whole Windermere touristy thing and the Coniston real ale thing and all the other "things" that you can do in the lake district,
Nice people, sturdy meals and very very pretty views, even in the drissle.
Reccomended

The top notch Lodore Falls hotel is 20 yards down the road if you want a change of scenery of an evening but you may as well stay at the Mary Mount hotel for food as although the service was 5 star, the quality was similar to Mary Mount and the price was double.......

Room Tip: Room 22 is a small ensuite twin but very nice, The bed was firm but then again after a full day of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you want a top-notch 5 star hotel with an endless menu and price to match, then don't come here. However, if you want the warm & friendly atmosphere of a small country-house style hotel by the side of the gorgeous Derwent Water then this is the place to come. The ferry jetty is just a couple of minutes across the grounds, the food is well prepared and presented and you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere even though it's only a 5 minute drive to Kewswick. Yes, other bigger hotels in the vicinity may have swimming pools and outdoor Jacuzzi hot tubs, but this place is so relaxing and laid back and the prices are very reasonable. We opted for the B&B&Dinner option, expecting dinner to be from the specials menu. But it wasn't - anything from the menu could be selected. And it was good! Although we didn't manage to make it to the cheese course, all the starters, mains and puddings were delicious - compliments to the chefs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertyGitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
4.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Mount Hotel

Property: Mary Mount Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mary Mount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary Mount is a family run hotel, which offers a peacefulcountry house atmosphere. Set in idyllic surroundings onthe shore of Derwentwater in the English Lake District, itis the ideal place to escape life's pressures. So come andenjoy the peace and tranquillity of this friendly hotel.There is ample parking and you can leave the car foryour entire stay if you wish, as there are plenty of walksthat can be done from the hotel, and there is wildlife inabundance all around. The hotel is only yards from theLodore landing stage of Keswick Launch Company whichmaintains a regular service to Keswick and around thelake. There is also a regular bus service.All rooms are en-suite and as you'd expect, have TVand tea/coffee making facilities.With its oak panelled bar, cosy lounge and dining roomwith a panorama towards Derwentwater and Catbells,there is no better place for getting that complete break.Please call or email directly for any last minute offers andbest rates throughout the year.Everyone and their dogs are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mary Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing