We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to visit”
Review of Squirrel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Squirrel Lodge
Ranked #129 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly place to visit”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just spent two nights at squirrel lodge. The owner of the B & B was very welcoming rooms are clean, breakfasts excellent. House was central to the town and within easy walking distance. Very quiet area. Value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for a couple of nights. It was a nice, comfy and cosy lodge. The landlady was really nice. She made us a really nice vegetarian English breakfast with crispy hash browns. She even dropped us off at the bus station when she saw we had so much luggage to carry. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahwishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballygawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

By far, one of the nicest B&B's iv'e stayed in recently. The landlady is very helpful and always has time for a chat - even if she is busy!!!. Food was very good and overall, i felt the price was very competitive. Location wise, only a short walk to the town and in a very quiet street.

Always nice when the owners don't ask for the money up front - good old fashioned manners costs nothing, and being able to pay by Credit Card is very handy. I'd rate here as maybe in the top 3 B&B's in Keswick.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - i had the single room last visit which i thought was ample.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilikerifles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Squirrel Lodge

I first visited Squirrel Lodge in June 2013. I stayed in a twin room with en-suite bathroom. It was quiet, comfortable and clean. I revisited Squirrel Lodge in October 2013. I had the single room, with private bathroom. It was clean and cosy, with a TV as well as a small desk, which was useful as I had brought some study along for the evenings. Pat, the owner, was welcoming and well-informed about the locality (walks, weather forecast, and transport connections). Breakfast was perfect, with plenty of choice.

Keswick is a beautiful, unspoilt town. There are lakeside walks, a 50 minute boat trip around the lake, and a fascinating museum, dedicated to the history and manufacture of Derwent pencils. There’s a street market and lots of shops and eateries. Peaceful Keswick and Derwentwater and the surrounding mountains provide respite from the rush of city life.

My only disappointment is that I am not fit enough to climb mountains, but I am thinking of training up so that I can revisit with family or friend and have a go at climbing Skiddaw. My B&B of choice for my stay will be Squirrel Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed one night at Squirrel Lodge. Overall a pleasant experience but I would definitely expect more from a "luxury" accommodation. The room was a bit small, did not have much space to walk and leave small luggage s around. The furniture was tired. The whole room and en-suite did not give me a 100% feeling of cleanliness. Breakfast was really good. Location is perfect to walk in the city centre. The owner could have been a little bit more friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeswickSquirrels, Owner at Squirrel Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations; however we can assure you that our accommodation meets all the requirements to maintain our 4 Star rating and is inspected annually by the English Tourism Council.
The room you occupied is our least expensive and was chosen by you as you were on a budget, and therefore it is the smallest of our double rooms, whilst still having adequate space. We do have other rooms which are classed as 'luxury' but you opted for the cheaper one.
As your stay was in August and nearing the end of a very busy summer season with high visitor numbers, it is inevitable that we will incur scuffs and marks from the sheer volume of traffic passing through. Although every effort is made to maintain standards and to carry out running repairs and cleaning, we cannot refurbish or update furniture mid-season. Full deep cleans and redecoration is carried out during our quieter winter months.
I am sorry if you feel I was unfriendly, but I can only assume that as we were very busy at the time of your stay, I was unable to devote as much time to individual guests as I would have liked. Ironically, this remark is the complete opposite to the previous review in June when I was considered very friendly, so what can I say?!
Thank you for your kind words complimenting us on our breakfast which you enjoyed and I'm sure you were also glad of the free wifi and parking which you took advantage of and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice nights accomodation. The room was big enough with a good comfortable bed and good tv. The shower was easy to use. The host was very griendly and the place is close to town and lots of rating options. Good value and accepted credit card

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. It was fine - very friendly and helpful approach and clean well equipped room. £198 for three nights twin room B&B seemed good value, with wifi too. The town centre is only a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
303 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swinside Inn
Swinside Inn
#2 of 2 in Newlands Valley
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squirrel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squirrel Lodge

Property: Squirrel Lodge
Address: Keswick-on-Derwentwate 43 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Squirrel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing