We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of A Different Taste - CLOSED

A Different Taste
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
North Yorks
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad overall”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went on Sunday evening. It's a welcoming place and the ladies there are very pleasant.

Food-wise, the kids portions are a decent size and my wife had cod loin which she was really pleased with (both quantity and the way it was cooked). My soup starter was nice, but I wasn't much fussed on my risotto I'm afraid.

That said, 3 'happy' meals out of 4 isn't bad is it and it has a nice ambience. If there had been a rating between 'average' and 'very good' I'd have opted for that

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    70
    26
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Fish Dishes”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Their special dishes were lovely I had Bream my wife Chicken every thing piping hot and presented with care. Service excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunelm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, lovely atmosphere - very welcoming”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were staying in Keswick for one night and hadnt booked a restaurant in advance. Upon the recommendation of our guest house proprietor, we rang "A Different Taste" and were able to make a reservation for the same night. When we arrived, the restaurant was very busy with a lovely warm welcome and our table all ready. Food was really tasty and served with generous portion sizes. Waitress very friendly and chatty and we had a lovely evening. Good choice and a good price for the quality of the meal. Thoroughly enjoyed it!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quality meals at a good price”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

There are not many places in Keswick where you can enjoy a quality meal without paying over the top for it in a restaurant rather than in a pub!! We have eaten in this reastaurant before but not for over a year so we turned up thinking we could just walk in and find a table on a Friday evening in the middle of October. How wrong we were but Emma found us a table if we could return in 30 minutes. A glass of wine later we returned to be shown our table. We both ordered the pork escalopes priced at £11.75 with generous portions and well presented with a short wait which wasn't too bad as there was plenty going on in the restaurant. We washed it down with a bottle of Chenin Blanc A bowl of chips came with the meal compliments of Debra the owner. Service was excellent without being too pushy. Glad to see this restaurant prospering in Station Road where competition is fierce. Will certainly return and try the two course meal for £11.95. Excellent value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank digitraisedwhenasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not the best choice in Keswick.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked late in the afternoon & were pleased that we had been successful as it was nearly full on our arrival at 7.00pm. The menu looked good but did not live up to it's expectations. My wife's mussels were disappointing with more than a few empty shells and my dessert - the apple pie, was not as good as the description.

Overall, we had good time, but it lacked that extra something to tempt us back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiMosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Different Taste also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing