We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mum's cooking - but not your mum” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Different Taste - CLOSED

A Different Taste
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mum's cooking - but not your mum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

service was great, couldn't fault it - waitress was attentive, asked questions to make sure everything was okay and everything was efficient from start to finish.
food, however, was disappointing. after reading all these reviews on trip advisor, we were expecting something far better cooked, better thought out and better presented.
we ordered chicken pate as a starter to share, and it was served with sliced bread! not what you expect when you eat out at a restaurant really. the pate itself was a bit gloopy in texture but the taste was nice.
for mains we both ordered the lamb dish, which was, again, tasty but something I could have made better myself, and actually reminded me of a typical mum's dinner - simple and slightly old fashioned - the vegetables (carrots and sugar snap peas) was served sliced and boiled - a tad lazy in our opinion and didn't look too appetizing on the plate. the lamb was covered in a mint gravy which tasted like supermarket sachet sauces - and we were not asked if we'd like the meat rare, medium or well done.
dessert - we shared a homemade apple pie and it was not as wholesome as we'd expected, it was thin and a bit dry, but the ice cream was delicious and creamy.
on the whole, the bill came to just over £45, which was more expensive than we thought - considering we shared starter and a main. food is definitely edible and overall it wasn't a bad meal at all, but it's not somewhere we'd go back to and not somewhere i would recommend to anyone who appreciates really good food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quoc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    70
    26
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in keswick!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We ate at a Different taste last week and had a lovely meal, the fish special of the day, sea bream and we shared a home made apple pie and ice cream, both were delicious!
We had eaten there on a previous trip to Keswick 2 years ago and were pleased to see that the food was still as good as we remembered, well done, keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coolblue-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely food good value fabulous home made puddings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We ate here on saturday 20th august the food was good we had one of the special menu about £12 per person for 2 courses. It was very pleasant with modern decor lovely staff - very pleasant and helpful.
we had soup and a chicken dish with veg and sauce very well cooked and great service. The puddings are all home made and to die for!! I had the chocolate brownie YUM YUM!!!
if we ever go again to keswick we would visit...
there is a lot of competition nearby but its well worth a visit. reasonable priced drinks so a good place to call into.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

The owner is also the chef and her cuisine is of a very high standard.
The decor was modern and appealing.
Staff attentive and friendly.
I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very good food, very reasonably priced combined with excellent service. The decor is a little off the wall in that there is an overuse of black, but don't let that put you off as the reward is an excellent meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Different Taste also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing