We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Night Dinner”
Review of Old Keswickian

Old Keswickian
Ranked #18 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Dinner”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice clean fish and chip shop, you don't expect much in these places they are not pretending to be anything else. Really enjoyed the fish and chips and fishcakes it was nice to sit down somewhere warm and clean rather than eat them outside. A little disappointed with the waitress felt she could have tried a little harder.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelandAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    340
    96
    46
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Simply the best chip shop near or far that we have found.quick to serve piping hot and delicious.never had mushy peas like these any where.part of our ritual when we are in the lakes is to pop in here , helps to make the week end complete,keep it up, if you have not been here give them a go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozzie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasteless Fish & Chips”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Really disappointed with this 'meal'. The fish, chips and gravy tasted of nothing, the fish was very thin and we didn't even bother finishing it all it was that rubbish. Should have gone to the chippy that we passed on the way to this one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Unimpressive takeaway”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had fish and chips takeaway from here, the fish batter was soggy, the gravy stodgy and chips very dry. The fish inside the batter was very good, but the rest of it let it down.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malefacent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good stop for a quick bite to eat”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A good all round fish and chip shop with the added bonus of being able to sit in .my only complaint would be that I ordered mushy peas and the space they took up on the plate meant my chip portion was loads smaller than my husbands who didn't order any. May be they should be served in a bowl or something . Service was good and staff friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dieselSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Keswickian also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Old Keswickian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing