We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lake View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
banjotoe2...
Liversedge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 28, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Far enough away from the bustle of Keswick to be relaxing but not too far if you need shops etc. Great views across Bassenthwaite lake to the Skiddaw range.
The accommodation is very good with everything you might need for your stay.
Plenty of walking from Thornthwaight village and only minutes drive away from Borrowdale and Newlands valley.
Pubs ,food etc. at nearby Braithwaite 1.5ml. or Keswick 2.5ml.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann P
Castle Eden, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect pet friendly flat in a dog friendly area.”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was our second visit to Lake View. The views are to die for. Accessible location in an inspiration setting. Well worth the journey through blizzards on the A66 to get there. The weather over there was kind to us although very cold. Looking forward to another visit to Lake View later in the year.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakelandG...
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Views of some of my favourite fells from the comfort of the couch!”
Reviewed March 19, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A last minute booking to take advantage of the snow provided by the Beast From the East. Fabulous location with easy access to all areas of the park including walks from the door into Whinlatter and beyond. Cottage was very warm, clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed. A real fire and a firm bed would be an advantage but by no means did this spoil our stay. We will definitely book this cottage again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence...
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a great little place to stay. It has a microwave (1000 Watts), It has a small Dishwasher, and everything you need to make your stay lovely. The beds are too soft, but the living room has a fold-away bed. The views are excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The location is amazing, great walks straight from the doorstep, and the views from the balcony just stunning, had breakfast out there every morning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabbit198
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient property in lovely location.”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an enjoyable holiday in this nicely appointed property with lovely views from the lounge and patio. The only reason I have not given a top mark is because we all felt the beds were too soft and bouncy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R0z23
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lake view cottage, which in fact is an apartment, was a lucky find and booked on the day we took over the property. We had intended to stay two weeks in Scotland however due to poor weather we decided to leave after a week and try our luck in the Lake District. After a futile search online I rang Keswick Cottages who we have used before to see if they had anything for 4 nights at short notice. As luck would have it, Lake View was available. Situated at Thorntwaite, just outside Keswick, it was a lovely apartment offering two comfortable bedrooms, one with ensuite, Excellent kitchen, fully equipped, Good family bathroom. Comfortable lounge/ diner.
A real treat was the balcony which overlooks Skiddaw, the lovely landscaped gardens and glimpses of Bassenthwaite lake. Breakfasts were enjoyed here every morning due to the lovely sunny weather the UK was enjoying, apart from north western Scotland !
This is situated in a very convenient position near to good fell walking and Keswick.
Highly recommendable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for your recommendation and review of Lake View. The balcony is a wonderful place for breakfast and many guests are now doing exactly as you have. It would be great to get some pictures the next time you stay and we can post them online make us all even more jealous!!! Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing