We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb guest house with great rooms and central location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burleigh Mead Hotel
Ranked #115 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2010

stayed here for first time with husband and daughter and partner and could not fault the hotel at all. the rooms were immaculate and comfortable with great power showers. the views from the south facing room are wonderful whilst the room to the back of the hotel had an extra large king size bed and larger shower room. the breakfasts are varied with good quality ingredients. a great last minute find

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanley37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a family get-together in October 2010, and was very impressed. The rooms were tastefully decorated, well maintained, and very clean. The owner was friendly and helpful in a quiet and unobtrusive way. The parking around the back was fine - and while it wouldn’t have been sufficient if there had been a car for every guest room, we never had a problem getting a space. The location is good - being central, but also fairly quiet. The views from the rooms in the back are good; but the views (to the south) from the front rooms are superb. They improve, obviously, as you get higher up the building. We were in room 3, which is at the back, and hence the view was not as good as in the front rooms. This was compensated for by the fact that we had a bigger bed, and the room itself was also a good size. We all agreed, by the way - and there were 10 in our party - that the beds were very comfortable, with nice firm mattresses. I usually find B&B and hotel rooms to be on the warm side for sleeping, and Burleigh Mead was no exception. The quiet location, however, meant that one could open the window without much fear of being disturbed by noise. The ensuites were modern, with excellent pressure in the showers, though some of the basins were rather avant garde, and while stylish, not very practical. Our one, for example, was flat and rather shallow. The extractor fan, however, was very effective.

Breakfasts (8:30 to 9:15) were good. Some B&Bs ask the night before what one wants for one’s cooked breakfast, but here one chooses on the day, and as a result, there wasn’t as much choice. Mushrooms, for example, were only available on alternate days. There was, however, a very good selection of cold items on the buffet table, and they were of high quality.

When I made my booking, Burleigh Mead was ranked about 110th out of 147 B&Bs in Keswick on TripAdvisor’s popularity index. A couple of good reviews have been posted in the last month, and it is now up to 79th. I’ve stayed at a couple of the top 10 in Keswick, and Burleigh Mead is, in my opinion, in the same league. It is a little more pricey than some other B&Bs, but I’d probably stay here next time I’m looking for a B&B in Keswick because of the comfortable bed, quiet location, and good views - and because there were no real faults.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silver1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at this guesthouse for two nights recently. It was a last minute booking and we didn't really know much about the hotel before we arrived, but we definitely struck gold. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a friendly smile and the owners were very accomodating. The rooms we were allocated were both clean and comfortable although did vary greatly in size - one had an enourmous king sized bed which was very comfortable! The views from both rooms were incredible and I could happily have spent two days overlooking the golf course and mountains beyond. Both rooms had flat screen TVs although there is not much need for a television when you're in Keswick with the sun shining!
The bathroom facilities in both rooms were very impressive, with what looked like brand new suites in each room. There was an antimist mirror, an extremely powerful shower, and clean sink and toilet. Tea and coffee making facilities are also provided in each room.

Breakfast at the Burleigh Mead is an impressive affair, with an array of different cereals and granola components along with different fresh fruit salads and compotes, yoghurt, muffins, cheeses, and fruit juices, and this is before the full english breakfast!

Overall we felt very lucky to have chosen such a lovely guesthouse, and will definitely be visiting again. The rooms are very well priced and are worth it for the views alone!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had a lovely stay at Burleigh Mead. The room had stunnig views and very comfortable beds, which was just what we needed after a long day of walking. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the owner was very accomadating.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetpeel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The hotel is situated in a perfect spot for walking and for Keswick, and has wonderful views over Derwentwater if you are in a front room. It is spoilt by the truly awful mattresses. We wanted to put the spare blanket under the sheet to try to make it more bearable but when we looked we saw this had already been done so presumably the proprietors know the problem. Surely a topper would be a good idea even if new mattresses are too big an expense. This spoilt aour holiday as after a long day's hike a good sleep is really necessary. Real shame as the rest of the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This Guest House/Hotel is rated 4 star and I think that is a correct rating. It is in an ideal location, with the town centre just a short stroll away, and likewise a nice walk through parkland to the lakeside. Very clean and comfortable accommodation, with a generous breakfast thrown in. The en-suite in the corner of the room has been constructed extremely well, with modern fittings and a clever use of space. There is shower only, no bath, but that is the way I prefer it on holiday anyway. All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone. A very enjoyable stay (6 days in our case). It is most certainly unsuitable for disabled, as with many of these older properties, and there is a 'healthy' walk up the stairs, but a bit of exercise never hurt anyone! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We stayed for four nights at this delightful guest house. Room was very clean & comfortable. Compact shower-room was beautifully functional. Lovely views from front and back of the North Lakeland fells. Five minutes walk from the town centre and about ten minutes from the lakeside and the Theatre by the Lake.

Very friendly and efficient service and excellent breakfasts - I had fun concocting a mixture of d.i.y. cereal from dried fruit, seeds, grains, berries and yoghurt ...

We'll be back! (Haven't tried all the real ale pubs in the town yet ...)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank timidimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
316 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Mead Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing