We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Kind & Compassionate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burleigh Mead Hotel
Ranked #111 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Kind & Compassionate”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Unfortunately, we had to cancel our visit to the Burleigh Mead Hotel as we were involved in a very serious traffic accident. I wanted to write a review, however, because I was so touched that the owner, Gill Newton, followed up with us "out of the blue" a couple of months later just to see how we're doing and to wish us well. You certainly don't get that at a big hotel! I have to imagine that someone with that degree of care and concern would provide GREAT customer service. Thanks, Gill, for your concern. We are hoping to come back and will DEFINITELY stay at the Burleigh Mead Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geegeesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved the location and views from this B&B but were disappointed by the innkeeper's demeanor. She seemed irritated and impatient when asked for suggestions or directions. Perhaps she just had a few bad days while we were there, but innkeepers running a B&B are usually more sociable and accomodating to their guests. Though the rooms and breakfast were okay, equally nice B&Bs lined the streets, so we will try a different one next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank foofpoofkazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We states for two nights in room6 top floor the room was clean and the bed was comfy.We was offered a hot drink upon arrival the full english breakfast was věry nice the burleigh mead is in a great location with great views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjayne1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is was our third stay, but we won't be going back. Having agreed a room with views over the park when we booked, on arrival we found ourselves in a rather cramped room at the back. Shower could have done with a clean, WiFi didn't work in our room. Felt really uncomfortable during our three nights and the huffing, puffing and sighing of the owner especially at breakfast added to the feeling. We asked for bacon and beans one morning and were told that wasn't possible, and yet beans on toast is on the menu! Such a shame as this B&B is in a prime location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darleen548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent two nights here and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We had a huge room with a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding fells. The room was furnished nicely and everything was spotlessly clean. We were refreshed with a pot of tea upon our afternoon arrival and were made to feel most welcome. Wonderful breakfast, full English, and also other options. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The room was adequate although tiny. The weather was hot so Gil offered a fan which was most appreciated. Great breakfast and very accommodating service. The entire experience was very good. If you visit in the summer, be sure to catch one of the plays at nearby Lake Derwentwater.

Room Tip: Parking is a bit of a problem but once your parked, it is close enough to everything to walk. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent two nights at Burleigh Mead in room 5. This room was on the third floor facing the park in front of the house. It had a lovely view and this quiet neighbourhood was a 5 minute walk to the centre of Keswick, as well as to Derwentwater lake. The bathroom was small but functional and clean. The owner was amiable and courteous to our party of four. Full English breakfast or other options were available. The local Cumberland sausages were very tasty! Very reasonable rate for this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchow30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#37 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#20 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#71 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Mead Hotel

Property: Burleigh Mead Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing