We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views & location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burleigh Mead Hotel
Ranked #114 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved the location and views from this B&B but were disappointed by the innkeeper's demeanor. She seemed irritated and impatient when asked for suggestions or directions. Perhaps she just had a few bad days while we were there, but innkeepers running a B&B are usually more sociable and accomodating to their guests. Though the rooms and breakfast were okay, equally nice B&Bs lined the streets, so we will try a different one next time.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank foofpoofkazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We states for two nights in room6 top floor the room was clean and the bed was comfy.We was offered a hot drink upon arrival the full english breakfast was věry nice the burleigh mead is in a great location with great views.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjayne1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is was our third stay, but we won't be going back. Having agreed a room with views over the park when we booked, on arrival we found ourselves in a rather cramped room at the back. Shower could have done with a clean, WiFi didn't work in our room. Felt really uncomfortable during our three nights and the huffing, puffing and sighing of the owner especially at breakfast added to the feeling. We asked for bacon and beans one morning and were told that wasn't possible, and yet beans on toast is on the menu! Such a shame as this B&B is in a prime location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darleen548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent two nights here and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We had a huge room with a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding fells. The room was furnished nicely and everything was spotlessly clean. We were refreshed with a pot of tea upon our afternoon arrival and were made to feel most welcome. Wonderful breakfast, full English, and also other options. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The room was adequate although tiny. The weather was hot so Gil offered a fan which was most appreciated. Great breakfast and very accommodating service. The entire experience was very good. If you visit in the summer, be sure to catch one of the plays at nearby Lake Derwentwater.

Room Tip: Parking is a bit of a problem but once your parked, it is close enough to everything to walk. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent two nights at Burleigh Mead in room 5. This room was on the third floor facing the park in front of the house. It had a lovely view and this quiet neighbourhood was a 5 minute walk to the centre of Keswick, as well as to Derwentwater lake. The bathroom was small but functional and clean. The owner was amiable and courteous to our party of four. Full English breakfast or other options were available. The local Cumberland sausages were very tasty! Very reasonable rate for this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchow30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Brilliant B&B in the best street in Keswick (The Heads) providing you with stunning views into the jaws of Borrowdale. You will be hard pushed to find a better view to wake up to. Traditionally decorated (not following the latest boutique trend) and therefore good value for money. Stayed here for a romantic break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Great location with shops and restaurants all within a few minutes walk, plus plenty of walks available from the house without needing to drive. Cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the house to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#27 of 189 in Keswick
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#68 of 189 in Keswick
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ellergill
Ellergill
#94 of 189 in Keswick
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Mead Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing